Worksman frame tube size?

Discussion in 'Board Trackers and Vintage Motorized Bicycles' started by AttackCadillac, Nov 4, 2014.

  1. AttackCadillac

    AttackCadillac New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, i'm new to the whole motorized bike scene and i'm building a early Indian tribute with a Worksman frame. My question is what size frame tubing does a Worksman Newsboy use (I'm stretching the frame) and more importantly where do you get it from.
    Thanks much, AttackCadillac
     
  2. MotoMagz

    MotoMagz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    561
    There are a few frames for sale in the swap shop.
     
  3. wret

    wret Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    51
    The top tubes and down tube are 1 inch.
     
  4. racie35

    racie35 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,700
    Likes Received:
    1
    Doesn't work a man have a board track frame now? In conjunction with someone I think..Pat maybe?
     
  5. MotoMagz

    MotoMagz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    561
    Mo money Mo money.... I think op wants to stretch it.
     
  6. racie35

    racie35 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,700
    Likes Received:
    1
    I hear that......are the worksman trackers stretched though?
     
  7. fasteddy

    fasteddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6,267
    Likes Received:
    1,437
  8. AttackCadillac

    AttackCadillac New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all of the replies, i probably should have mentioned that i already have a frame and im ready to start cutting on it. I just wanted to know Where to get the tubing to do the top bars and the drop-loop. BTW im using a gravely engine that weighs about 65 pounds, is that too heavy for the frame?
    Thanks again, AttackCadillac
     
  9. wret

    wret Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    51
    I believe the wall thickness of the standard Worksman tubing is 0.09 inches. In my opinion it is not strong enough to support that kind of weight. It would be better to replace the tubes with thicker 0.12 inch tubing.

    There are many outlets for DOM steel tubing; Metals Depot and Wicks among others. You can probably find some locally.
     
  10. curtisfox

    curtisfox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,984
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Yes get DOM tubing, that is really a heavy motor for a bike. You should read Mr.B's build Excalliber 09 and see the truble he had with frame breaking with Wisconson engine. You should maybe think about doing the hole frame out of DOM tube.

    If you find a steel supply place that does fab. work they can even bend some for you. If you have patterns like using copper tub and bend it to the shape the can copy it.side note if they have to order it,it comes in 20' lengths and they will charge you for the hole thing so you may as well keep it for other projects.

    This is going to be intresting got to watch this build LOL.............Curt
     
  11. AttackCadillac

    AttackCadillac New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow thanks guys. I figured the frame wouldn't work when i got it lol. I was reading on this forum about how strong the frame was and i went ahead and bought one, but when i got it i was a little underwhelmed. Anyway i didn't want to start a build thread until i was done with the bike, so i'll start another thread when i get it done.
     
  12. curtisfox

    curtisfox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,984
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Post it here to let us know when you start one,love to watch you build. One of the guys in CA make there frame out of DOM tubing Sportman or one of them will look and see and post if i find...................Curt


    http://www.sportsmanflyer.com/
    PS here it is.
     
    #12 curtisfox, Nov 5, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014
  13. AttackCadillac

    AttackCadillac New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Curtis. I really think this bike is going to be cool with the Gravely model L engine, i've never seen anyone on here use one and I think they look more like an old motorcycle engine than any of the chinese engines. On another note, i would have used a Sportsman Flyer frame but I need a 6" stretch instead of a 4" so im doing it myself. Has anyone on here ever built a Worksman with a 6" stretch on the frame?
    AttackCadillac
     
  14. curtisfox

    curtisfox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,984
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Not sure although there has been some 6" streach builds. RicRides knows a lot about them engines if you got any questions you could PM him. I thought he would have one built by now he was talking about it................Curt
     
  15. Tinsmith

    Tinsmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    98
    I stretched my worksman frame 4 to 5 inches using some tubing from a 1953 Schwinn. Fit perfectly and plenty heavy enough.

    Dan
     
  16. butchl

    butchl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    What is the wheelbase on these Worksmans??
     

Share This Page