Many problems with chain drive system...

GoldenMotor.com

ilandz

May 14, 2019
I'm very new to motorized biking, having just finished turning an old 90's mountain bike into a speed demon. (or at least I hope it will be) The kit I got was a pretty standard 49cc 4 stroke from ebay.

The biggest problem I've had so far is the chain that connects the belt drive to the sprocket on the back wheel. The damn chain keeps jumping off the sprocket at high speeds, and sometimes when slowing down. I'm using the included chain tensioner, making sure the chain is tight but not to tight. The sprocket on the back wheel is on pretty good in my opinion with minimal wobble. The only solution I can think of at this point is maybe getting a spring assisted tensioner, but that about it. I can't say how many times I've had to take the entire back wheel off on the side of the road just to remount the chain.

One smaller problem I've had is the throttle getting stuck at full which is pretty annoying and dangerous. Don't know why it's happening, there's no sharp turn or bends in the line.

Any advice is desperately needed. thanks! :)

Greg58

May 1, 2011
Newnan,Georgia
Welcome to the forum, the first thing that comes to mind is sprocket alignment, make sure the chain is straight. On the throttle spray silicone in the twist area or lube the cable inside the housing. Maybe a small return spring at the carb if it had a external cable mount.

Smooth Ave

May 5, 2019
McAlester OK