Snapped All Thread Mounting Bolt

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by MrLarkins, Jun 21, 2008.

  1. MrLarkins

    MrLarkins HS Math Teacher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, crap.

    I waited 1 week to get replacement gaskets in the mail. I received them today, put them on, and took the bike for a spin. Now it ran smooth as ever, until...

    [​IMG]

    IT SNAPPED RIGHT OFF!

    At first, I thought it just wiggled loose and fell out, so I drove around looking for it and I got lucky and found the bolt/nut part. That's when I noticed it wasn't complete. The rest of it was still in the motor casing! Talk about bad luck! Luckily for me, after removing the rear mounting spacer, the broken part was sticking out about 3mm and I was able to use needle nose plyers to twist it out. Now I have the job of replacing it... :(

    It's metric M6 and roughly 8 cm long.

    Anyone know where I might get replacements? Besides online? Lowe's doesn't carry metric all threads, neither does O'Reilly Auto Parts. I'll try Fastenels Monday.

    I pulled all mounting bolts. I noticed one of the shorter front bolts was a bit bent, so I'll replace it as well. What do you folks thing about thread locking on those mounting bolts? Will it withstand the heat, or is it not a good idea in the first place?
     
  2. misteright1_99

    misteright1_99 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can buy long bolts and cut off the heads, if you can find them threaded the length of the bolt. If you cant find them I have heard a company online called Mcmaster Carr.
     
  3. cityevader

    cityevader New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same thing happened to me!
    Drill it just a hair bigger and tap it to 1/4x20 thread, found ANYWHERE! Actually, you may not even need to drill it, but I haven't looked at any chart to see what drill size needed for 1/4" threads...but it's so close, you can probably just run the tap right in. Mine was a hair off-sized due to having to drill out the broken stud, which partially mauled the original threads.
     
  4. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    17
    I have alway's been able to find all the bolt's, nut's, threaded rod at ACE hardware....Some say they don't have it....:confused: Maybe every ACE is different
     
  5. Mopedamauter79

    Mopedamauter79 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0

    Needle nose pliers, I knew this would work if I had enough slack on the outside, sad thing is... I dont... grr.

    -Mopedamater79's gf
     
  6. Bikeguy Joe

    Bikeguy Joe Godfather of Motorized Bicycles

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,529
    Likes Received:
    3
    Locking pliers can be used if there is even a little of the stud sticking out...if you can file a flat side on it, all the better.

    Why can't you just use the correct length metric bolts instead of allthread? Bolts would be stronger anyhow.
     
  7. Bikeguy Joe

    Bikeguy Joe Godfather of Motorized Bicycles

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,529
    Likes Received:
    3
    You can find metric bolts just about anywhere that sells hardware, and really cheap at any auto parts store.
     
  8. MrLarkins

    MrLarkins HS Math Teacher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    some say using metrics bolts would cause damage to the block threads with all the in and out mounting and remounting that might happen. I'll try ACE
     
  9. Bikeguy Joe

    Bikeguy Joe Godfather of Motorized Bicycles

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,529
    Likes Received:
    3
    If you use loctite and don't over tighten them, they will be fine. How many times are you planning on removing the bicycle motor from the frame?

    In my experience, it's the stud that strips out, not the hole in the engine case. If the engine case strips, you can use a heli-coil, or even easier is a product made by Loctite that is a thread re-builder. I used it in the primary case on a chain tensioner bolt in my old Sportster and it held for years.
     
  10. cityevader

    cityevader New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got three Aces witin 10 miles, none carry metric
     
  11. cityevader

    cityevader New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    My thoughts exactly, but the harware store only has them up to, if i can remember, 2.5 inches or so. And something like 3,5" length is needed.
     
  12. Pablo

    Pablo Master Bike Builder & Forum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,658
    Likes Received:
    5
    True Value hardware usually has much more hardware than Ace. My True Value has metric in stainless steel even.
     
  13. boogerballs

    boogerballs New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to be clear, at ACE Hardware, you need to be looking in those little plastic tray bins for those metric all thread studs. I asked for metric all thread and the guy said that they didn't carry it. Yeah, they don't carry three foot lengths of it, but I did discover it in little four inch pieces in those trays. Good luck.
     
  14. Norman

    Norman LORD VADER Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,605
    Likes Received:
    1
    You boys using a torque wrench when messing with the nuts/studs that hold the head on?
     
  15. MrLarkins

    MrLarkins HS Math Teacher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    0
    my local ACE Hardware had what I needed.

    um, sorry, no...I don't own something like that. Nobody I know around here has it either. I'm probably paying the price for it, but I don't want to spend the money for a tool I will only use once.
     
  16. Skyliner70cc

    Skyliner70cc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ace Hardware in Colorado carried 'em. I also use metric couplers as the nuts. The couoplers have 4 times more thread to grip the bolt and allows some serious torque to be applied to the mount.

    One of the first things I do on a kit is to replace almost every nut and bolt on an engine to avoid these kinds of problems with the low quality stock hardware.
     
  17. Bikeguy Joe

    Bikeguy Joe Godfather of Motorized Bicycles

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,529
    Likes Received:
    3
    Norman, I have a built in torque wrench.
     
  18. Norman

    Norman LORD VADER Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,605
    Likes Received:
    1
    cough, cough, BS!(^)rotfl
     
  19. Skyliner70cc

    Skyliner70cc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    No need for torque wrench. Make sure you loctite those new studs too!
     
  20. MarcPhotoMan

    MarcPhotoMan New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found mine at a local auto parts store, I called around first to see who had them so I didn't waste my time and gas.

    I find you need to be very carefully not to over tighten the engine mounts since we are dealing with parts that are made of soft metals.(^)
     

Share This Page