Break In

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by GoFastBicycles, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. GoFastBicycles

    GoFastBicycles New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Opinions about this subject

    When you buy a new chain saw do you have to break it in? If so, how?

    When you buy a lawn mower do you have to break it in? If so, how?

    I think this whole break in thing was a way for the suppliers to cover their butts if the defective engines made it past Q.C. I use that term lightly. They could say sorry you didn't break it in properly.

    Please lets not have a pissing contest about this post, just some of you honest opinions.

    I my self just put them on and run them. some better than others but I think the breaking in thing is over used.

    Adam
     
  2. good vibrations

    good vibrations New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree. Ran mine like normal when I put it on. In fact, I think the starting, opening it up and lettin' off of city driving does more for breaking in the whole range of the motor any way. 15...... suckers.xx.
     
  3. Venice Motor Bikes

    Venice Motor Bikes Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,170
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm not sure about chain saws & lawn mowers, but for new HT engines, I recommend mixing the first 2 gallons @ 24:1 & ride the bike normally! There's no real need to 'baby' the engine. (just don't run it at WOT for extended periods of time)
     
  4. psprat496

    psprat496 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rode it like I stole it from day one but made sure I eased of the throttle every now and then. So far 350miles and still going strong!!
     
  5. flybytaco

    flybytaco Metal Molding Madman

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,176
    Likes Received:
    0
    i start the bike up and idle it till its red hot shut it off wait 10 min or till i can touch the head restart it warm it up a bit and go around the block twice slow and then i letem have it and i run amsoil sabre @70:1 out the box
     
  6. Venice Motor Bikes

    Venice Motor Bikes Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,170
    Likes Received:
    18

    What's the theory behind how you do it??? I understand 'heat cycling' from my R/C car days...
     
  7. flybytaco

    flybytaco Metal Molding Madman

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,176
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats it i know theese motors are really bound up when new so i just loosen it up a bit before i wring it out i even slip the clutch a bit to smoke it in lol
     
  8. Cabinfever1977

    Cabinfever1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1
    When i got mine 1,200miles ago i just road it like i stole it, and i varied the throttle while riding short distances. I started with a 16:1 mixture and found that i didnt need so much oil. and switch to 20:1 and then to 30:1? i have no idea i just add a tiny bit of oil and 30cents in gas and shake my whole bike ,lol . My engine runs better than new still. 32mph @ 180mpg.

    I only ride WOT 1 mile to the store and back every few days and every once in a while in the summer i go for longer rides around the lake.
     
    #8 Cabinfever1977, Apr 22, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2010
  9. K.i.p

    K.i.p New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    40:1 from day one. No prolonged amount of time at any particular throttle setting. My opinion? The same as yours Adam.
     
  10. Nougat

    Nougat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have a chainsaw or lawnmower, yes the engine goes through a break-in period. New cylinders are honed, and the rings seat.

    But you don't notice any dramatic change, because you're not taking your riding lawnmower to redline, and both it and your push mower have the throttle configured so that it won't redline - if the throttle isn't just completely fixed in one position entirely.

    I don't ave any experience with chainsaws, but I have to think they probably have limited throttles, too.
     

Share This Page