Wont start......please help!

GoldenMotor.com

jkflyer

Jan 4, 2014
bakersfield
I'm new to the whole motor bicycling world and taking it day by day.
I can use all advise I can get.

Here's my problem....
I've been riding around town with no trouble what so ever for the past week.
Then I head out today and I cant get the motor to turn over. I pedal and pedal and when I release the clutch all I get is sputter like its about to go, but know start up.
...WHY IS THIS HAPPENING?

Nothng has changed, I've just replaced the fuel filter but no other changes....
It just won't kick in
Please, I need help
Thank you

bluegoatwoods

Jul 29, 2012
Central Illinois
Okay. Most likely you're not getting either fuel or spark. I'm betting on spark. But let's start with fuel.

If you have clear fuel line, then you'll be able to tell by looking whether fuel is getting to the carburetor or not. If yes, then set this issue aside for a few minutes.

Prop your bike up so that the rear wheel can spin freely. Then pull off your spark plug wire and remove the plug from the head. Re-attach it to the spark plug wire. Now, while holding the spark plug threads up against the engine, turn the rear wheel. You don't have to try to spin it at riding speed or anything like that. Just moderately fast. You should see spark jumping across the gap.

Come back here with your results and someone'll be able to get you going sooner or later.

Best of luck.

crassius

Sep 30, 2012
USA
after changing fuel filter, it isn't strange to find that a small scrap of fuel line got rubbed off and sent down into the carb

jkflyer

Jan 4, 2014
bakersfield
Thanks to everyone.
I work late, just got home thought I'd try the bike out... and again no start just sputter
I noticed that the fule filter was full as if it wasn't drawing through. it usually is about half full
(Again I'm guessing) so I thought to check the line...& it was clear.