Universal Tachometer

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by Vistaman73, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. Vistaman73

    Vistaman73 Chat Box Junkie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone heard of these? I guess a wire is wrapped around the spark plug cable and when it picks up a current it can show the rpms. I would love to find a nice one. any suggestions?
    laff
     
  2. Nougat

    Nougat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like this?

    ENM 2 Cycle Two Stroke Tachometer Tach

    It acts like a timing light, but instead of lighting up every time there's current through the plug wire, it measures how many jolts go through it and displays as RPM.
     
  3. Vistaman73

    Vistaman73 Chat Box Junkie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    kind of... but it says it refreshes every 2.5 secs. little slow, there are others on the site but they are more money, i guess i will do some research.
     
  4. Vistaman73

    Vistaman73 Chat Box Junkie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. azbill

    azbill Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Vistaman73

    Vistaman73 Chat Box Junkie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    that is a nice tach. it is a little exspensive though. i am also getting a speedo with odometer. so i will have RPM, Speed, Hours, And Miles. But, I guess if i want to be accurate i should not start my new motor until i get those two things. now i am bummed that i have to wait.
     
    #6 Vistaman73, Jan 2, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  7. robin

    robin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    2
  8. Vistaman73

    Vistaman73 Chat Box Junkie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    does it update every 2.5 sec?
     
  9. TheE

    TheE New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was in the process of building a homebrew digital tachometer that refreshes every 1 sec (adjustable). I had the program done and everything, but then winter hit :( Gotta wait for the summer to build it and try it out...
     
    #9 TheE, Jan 3, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2010
  10. Vistaman73

    Vistaman73 Chat Box Junkie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    That looks like the same thing made by a different brand. How often does it update? 2.5 Sec? thst seems too slow. if it does, how do like it?
     
  11. robin

    robin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    2
    Iam just using mine to tell me hours so i change oil at the right intervals--i think it updates instantly but i will tell you tomorrow
     
  12. warner

    warner New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using the one Staton sells, too (SenDEC). There IS a slight delay....but unless you are used to seeing a bouncing tach needle, it's adequate. It tells you what your cruising RPM is...and you can see how high you're revving and whatnot. And doubles as an hour meter, so that's a nice bonus. Good unit. Simple to install. You won't regret getting one.....very slick little meter.

    Warner
     

Share This Page