Thanks for having me!

GoldenMotor.com

TyrantTaren

May 16, 2019
I've only just registered with this forum, but I already know I'll be greatly indebted to the massive knowledge base here.

I am a TOTAL newbie when it comes to the motorization of a bicycle, and motors in general for that matter, but I'm smart enough to pick it up as I go. As for bicycles themselves, I've been riding since I was a youngster, and have always maintained them myself. Beyond that, I have a deep foundation in physics and the way the physical world functions, and can comprehend anything that is properly rooted in the subject.

I've come here for help with my first, and likely my most important, project. I am on a journey of sorts (with no actual specific destination), and I need a reliable form of transportation. I have a "cheap or free" mentality, and would much rather consume elbow grease than cash, DIY to the max!

I'll make sure to ask more specific questions in more appropriate threads, but the short version is, I NEED HELP! I have a nearly-new 29" Schwinn Ascension, and a new-in-box 79cc Predator generator gas engine, from Harbor Freight (I've paid $90 total, for both). I intend to build and install my own frame to mount the engine above the rear tire, chain driven. I need this build to be durable enough to take me coast to coast, and thousands of miles beyond that. I'm willing to entertain any suggestions that don't include the word 'buy', and even then I might still, as long as I can get it for the right price (I have someone delivering a 10t clutch, and I'd prefer a rather large driven sprocket... Only things I've convinced myself are worth spending money on if I need to)

I totally feel like I've missed a few things, but that's the basics of what has brought me to this site. I look forward to seeing ya'lls opinions, and sharing the final result!

Greg58

May 1, 2011
Newnan,Georgia