Running on half choke

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by frenchman159, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. frenchman159

    frenchman159 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everybody

    First post and i hope i'm in the right area of the forums. I just purchased a 70cc engine and am loving it. Call it pushing 40 and loving the assitance. Love the fact of being able to get back on a bike, But this time when i get tired I just "pop the clutch" and enjoy the scenery! My question is, I have to run the engine with the choke 1/2 to 3/4 on all the time. At this choke setting the engine runs very smooth. I must be missing something for it to need the extra fuel. I checked all gaskets for leaks and cleaned the carb. The float arms are sitting parallel. Any help would be great. Also any tips on vibration ?? I still can't feel A#$ !!! Thank You !!!
     
  2. Norman

    Norman LORD VADER Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,605
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you raise the needle a notch?and try it or all the way qnd try it?
    mike the needle at the top by the grooves, around 0.070 and at the bottom farthest away from the grooves it should be around 0.065. this is not a hard and fast rule but I've found that some of the needles are not tapered right or not tapered at all.
    If they are not tapered right the fuel will be too lean wide open and that is why you need to run with the choke on.
     
  3. frenchman159

    frenchman159 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, i'll try that. The needle is 3rd from the top. I will set the clip all the way down an see if that helps. if i shut the choke off with a warm engine it just wants to stall out. So, thats how i came to think of it starving for fuel. Thank you !!
     
  4. deacon

    deacon minor bike philosopher

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8,119
    Likes Received:
    0
    You do know almost all of these engines leak air at the carb to manifold connection. Plus the needle works best for MOST of us in the second from the top location. It most likely is one of those two things or even both.
     
  5. Skyliner70cc

    Skyliner70cc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you aren't running an inline filter, you may have clogged your carb main jet or other fuel passages. As a minimum run a small fine wire through the main jet and install an inline fuel filter. There is a lot of crud in the fuel tank that shouldn't be there on a new kit.
     
  6. sisdavid

    sisdavid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would try the little clip on the needle first. Second from top sounds like a good place to start. Just do not do it in the grass or you might loose that little clip. Maybe get an old sheet and take it apart over that. I used an automotive heater hose on the engine mounts, and muffler bracket helps with the vibration.
     
    #6 sisdavid, May 1, 2008
    Last edited: May 1, 2008
  7. Bikeguy Joe

    Bikeguy Joe Godfather of Motorized Bicycles

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,529
    Likes Received:
    1
    So, did you get it figured out frenchman?

    I'm guessing your bicycle motor has an air leak at the manifold or where the carb clamps on the manifold....don't over tighten either. Take the manifold off the engine, smear on a THIN layer of any RTV sealant on both sides of the gasket and reinstall.

    You guys are cleaning the tanks before you install them on your bikes, right?
    That little screen inside the petcock will fill up with crud and clog up in 20 miles if you don't. (that is if your tank is as bad as some have claimed)
     
  8. frenchman159

    frenchman159 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes on the air leak !! And i raised the needle too. I'm very happy with the way it's running right now. I'm off to get better tires tomorrow as the ones I have on now are not the greatest. I live in the country and i'm dying to take it to the city, for a nice ride through the park !!
     
  9. paul

    paul Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,536
    Likes Received:
    8
    5555555555555555555 thats a high five. good job frenchman. feels good when you get it figured out how to make your bicycle motor run good dosn't it. (^)
     
  10. Skyliner70cc

    Skyliner70cc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great to hear you got it all worked out! Intake leaks are almost guaranteed if you use the stock gasket. I don't bother with it anymore and cut my own.
     
  11. Venice Motor Bikes

    Venice Motor Bikes Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,169
    Likes Received:
    18
    I just had this same problem with one of my new bikes... It would only run with 1/2 choke!
    I sealed up all the air leaks and checked everything I could think of, but had very little change. :-||
    Then I got the idea to drill the jet a little bigger.
    I went to the LHWS and bought 6 tiny drill bits in the next sizes up.
    Every time I drilled it a little bigger, I would test ride it & every time it rode a little better! (^)
    I stopped drilling when it was running good.

    I thought I would add this to this thread incase anyone ever has this problem in the future. :ride2:
     
  12. paul

    paul Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,536
    Likes Received:
    8
    55555555555555555555555 high five venice! nice job. nothing feels as good as when we figure out what is making our bicycle motors run bad and fix it. i imagine you are all smiles.
     
  13. Venice Motor Bikes

    Venice Motor Bikes Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,169
    Likes Received:
    18
    I was VERY proud of myself! :D :D :D :ride2:
     
  14. Norman

    Norman LORD VADER Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you mic the needle to see if it was tapered right?
     
  15. Venice Motor Bikes

    Venice Motor Bikes Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,169
    Likes Received:
    18
    No, but I held it next to 2 others & they all looked exactly the same... So I figured that probably wasn't the problem.
     
  16. Norman

    Norman LORD VADER Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pablo had a problem kind of like yours he sent me the carb and I found that the needle was not tapered right. and it was off by only 0.005.
    I compaired his to my carbs needle with a mic. I reground it and the carb would then work properly. Before it would start and idle but would not rev up if you put on the choke it would try but would not work very well at all. after I tapered the needle it ran fine. at the top the needle miced 0.070 and at the bottom it miced 0.065 so its not a lot of taper and very hard to see the difference.
    check out my carb post for the main jet size as I don't remember it right off
     
  17. Venice Motor Bikes

    Venice Motor Bikes Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,169
    Likes Received:
    18
    Well... it's running pretty good now, but I will take out the needle & check it anyways... :D
    I'll post what I find.
     
  18. Venice Motor Bikes

    Venice Motor Bikes Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,169
    Likes Received:
    18
    Also... I don't know about Pablo's carb, but mine ran great as long as the choke was 1/2 on!
    Put the choke "off" at full speed, & it would die.
    What exactly was Pablo's doing?
     
  19. Pablo

    Pablo Master Bike Builder & Forum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine didn't run for crap since new, but in some general terms ran like yours, with choke I could and did ride the bike.....but it actually got worse. I almost started to drill the jet, but I would have measured it first (and found it fine!). But I was getting tired of messing with it and coolio Norm volunteered to take a crack at it. Sure enough - he spotted the needle right away. I had no frame of reference...now I know what the proper needle taper is.
     
  20. Bikeguy Joe

    Bikeguy Joe Godfather of Motorized Bicycles

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,529
    Likes Received:
    1
    I haven't drilled any jets yet, but I have "re-tapered" all the needles.

    It's worth the effort to "fine tune" the carbs by this means. One bicycle motor I even got to run very well all the way through the rpm range in this manner.
     

Share This Page