New here, First 212 build

GoldenMotor.com

HappyHeretic

Jun 22, 2022
Hey guys, so i just posted my 'hi how are ya', which may have been long overdue... Im familiar enough with 2 stroke kits, but this is my first build from scratch, and my first 4 stroke...

This is a long post, so if youd prefer to skip the context, the TLDR is that im having trouble mounting a predator 212 to an aluminum gas tank frame in a way that is safe for the frame and rider. Vertical mount? Reasons not to? Solutions to how to nake horizontal mount work? Commercially available mounting kits specifically made for 212 bicycles? Improvised solutions that are tried and true?

Also, anyone who has an intimate familiarity with jackshafts, theres a question for you towards the end...

So heres where im at...

Predator 212
minus a governor and oil sensor.
on an aluminum gas tank frame,
vertical mount (im ALMOST sure)
bullet lines torque converter, looking at possible customized shaft for the output sprocket to mount behind the plate...
Magnesium wheels, road tread, canle disk brakes and 32 tooth sprocket

Pictures below...

So im stuck on the problem of mounting, and i might be overthinking it...

I went with vertical mount because horizontal had the engine floating all the way up, with a lot of empty space underneath, which i didnt want for center of gravity. Also, i physically couldn't fit it without the valve cover butting up against the tapped hole for the petcock and the spark plug wire pressing hard under the top... So vertical mount it fits great, although maybe too low for pedal crank. Thats a problem for later.