My new Bike E Recumbent

GoldenMotor.com

Greengabbard

Mar 20, 2012
St. Louis
I just bought a Bike E CT recumbent on eBay for $300. I'm super excited for its delivery on the 11th of this month. I've been excited about building an electric bike for a long time. I've been riding a friction drive that I built for a couple years now. It just seems fitting to complete my collection with an electric. My days are filled with research about different options for motors, batteries, etc. I'm convinced that I'm going with a mid drive unit. I really like what I see from Cyclone( http://www.cyclone-tw.com/order-1chain.htm ). I'm most interested in their 500 Watt kit. $350 without the battery and charger or $800 for everything. I'm like everyone else and choke at the high price of batteries. But the investment could be worth it.

Any thoughts? Alternate suggestions?

I'll post a picture of my bike as soon as its gets here.

BarelyAWake

Jul 21, 2009
Maine
Somethin' like this one?

If so, it looks to be a sweet ride for sure :D

As for the Cyclone prices it all seems to check out about right... except there's no way an unfaired 24v 500w ebike is going to do "50 km/h" or 31mph unassisted, recumbent or not - 0.6hp is 0.6hp lol, 30mph is usually the realm of systems twice that, 48v/1000w or so, jus' as a heads up ;)

Greengabbard said:
I'm like everyone else and choke at the high price of batteries. But the investment could be worth it
You're right it is, don't choke - the batteries are by far the most important part of an ebike & is the number one cause for satisfaction/dissatisfaction. Get the best you're able (AH) and the rest will work out.

Welcome to bein' bent lol

Greengabbard

Mar 20, 2012
St. Louis
Yup that's the one!!!

I don't know what I'm hoping to get as far as speed goes. On my friction drive I can go 25 MPH on flat ground without pedaling. But 30 would be nice... How much experience do you have with Electric bike kits? Do you have any good recommendations?