Mega Motor 1St timer

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Msrubin1261, Apr 3, 2014.

1. Msrubin1261

Msrubin1261 New Member

Just ordered my first 48cc kit to put on my Diamondback mountain bike. Very short commute to work everyday and getting to old to pedal all the time. Guess i shoulda checked this site out before the purchase cause it sounds like I could have done a bit better on the hardware side. But for the price I think I'll be okay. Im an HVAC tech by trade and pretty sure I can handle the build pretty easily so I just hope the fun is in the near future. I'll continue to learn from this site and keep you posted with the results. dance1

2. 2door

2door Moderator
    Staff Member

Welcome to the forum. It isn't too late. You'll find lots of helpful advice here if and when you need it. You have a few fellow Illinois builders/riders here. I'm sure they'll check in with you. Keep us informed of your progress.

There are also a few air conditioning guys. Smart bunch. They have to be to do the job :)

Good luck, have fun and ride safe.

Tom

3. bluegoatwoods

bluegoatwoods Active Member

As an HVAC tech, you'll surely have the skills you need to maintain one of these bikes.

And don't let the two strokes reputation for poor quality spook you. It's true that they're not Rolls-Royce engines. But they're still very easy to love. And dirt cheap.

4. paul

paul Active Member

welcome, I think the diamondback will make a fine looking motorized bicycle. they are built strong and ride nice

5. Msrubin1261

Msrubin1261 New Member

Just got the kit yesterday and installed the sprocket last night. I posted a new thread on the Mechanical Components/Wheels thread regarding this portion of the install. If you get a moment check it out and give feedback if you have any. Felt like a kid with a shiny new toy last night. Pictures to follow soon!

6. wheelbender6

wheelbender6 Active Member