HELP NEEDED - Install on a 3 speed coaster hub

Discussion in 'Motorized Cruiser Bicycles' started by imlivingproof, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. imlivingproof

    imlivingproof New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to mount a Zoombike 80cc Kit on a Schwinn 3 speed cruiser?

    I am having trouble installing the sprocket on the 3 speed coaster hub.

    Can I go to a one speed?

    Any help would be great
     
  2. Ursus

    Ursus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    What problem are you having exactly?
     
  3. imlivingproof

    imlivingproof New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need to mount the sproket, and it asks me to remove the brake arm. But when doing so the hub opens and starts to...


    Also I just installed the motor but cant get the sproket inside the motor to spin, any advice on that would help
     
  4. Smoothe

    Smoothe New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe I can help you a little bit I.L.P:

    Pull the clutch lever and your engine sprocket should spin.

    Take your wheel off your bike, lay it on its side, carefully remove the coaster brake arm, don't lose any parts, attach sprocket, replace brake arm and anything else that may have come undone. Add chain, replace wheel, ride like HECK!

    That 3 speed hub sure would be sweet with a shift kit, and no need to remove the brake arm!
     
    #4 Smoothe, Mar 23, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2011
  5. driftology

    driftology New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    i would go with the shifter kit too!
     
  6. imlivingproof

    imlivingproof New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will try it out when I get home.

    Does anyone have a 3speed coaster hub with a sprocket added? If so I would love to see pics.

    If I can't figure it out today I think I might just convert it to a regular hub and add brakes to the bike...
     
  7. matthurd

    matthurd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you could make a video showing the issue you're having i mite be able to help, i had no major issues putting a sprocket on my coaster hub, although mine was a single speed.
     
  8. imlivingproof

    imlivingproof New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update:

    I'm buying a single speed coaster hub on rim. It will be installed tomorrow afternoon.

    Also I got the sprocket in the engine to spin, it turn out I didn't pull the clutch far enough back.

    Thanks for all the help
     
  9. Smoothe

    Smoothe New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    And what are your plans for the 3 speed hub?

    Are you going to use the rag joint sprocket? I would check out the Manic Mechanic hub adapter & sprocket at Pirate cycles. 40T sprockets are sposed to be optimum for 2 strokes.
     
  10. Bikeguy Joe

    Bikeguy Joe Godfather of Motorized Bicycles

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,529
    Likes Received:
    3
    Most (if not all) 3 speed hubs are too large to fit the sprocket over, unless MM makes a sprocket adapter with a GIANT hole in the center...
     

Share This Page