carb cables

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by wan37, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. wan37

    wan37 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a cns carb and I bought a throttle cable to replace a broke one.I also said heck with that carb,I order a nt style carb but I seem to have throttle cable and grip problems so I can't dial in the carb...any help would be good!
     
    #1 wan37, Aug 25, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
  2. Goat Herder

    Goat Herder Gutter Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,250
    Likes Received:
    2
  3. wan37

    wan37 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay here's my whole story I had a CNS carb on and I pulled the vent tube off It ran decent but the throttle cable broke,Well I order a NT carb and a new throttle cable separate,so I put the new cable and the nt on and it idle real high and the throttle would turn but not right.I got tired of ****ing with it.so I put the cns back on and it starts and get so high idle same as the nt.Okay what to do air leak or throttle to cable too long or to short....I just don't think it a air leak really think the cable is too long or short,because it does it on booth carbs.....please tell some good news
     
  4. Goat Herder

    Goat Herder Gutter Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,250
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does it on both carbs its a good chance its a air leak. Check around your crank seals , intake manifold etc.

    If you have any kind of slack in the carb cable very likely that is not the issue here.
     
  5. wan37

    wan37 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    It ran pretty decent before the throttle cable broke so I can't say its a air leak but I will check it. thanks
     
  6. Goat Herder

    Goat Herder Gutter Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,250
    Likes Received:
    2
    Check back with us and let us know what you find? Lots of great folks here that enjoy helping:)

    It might also help to look through the back part of the carb with the air filter off. There has been reports of the cable slide sticking on rare occasion. The part that the cable attaches to inside the top of the carb. See if it is resting down onto the idle adjustment screw properly while idling? If not it will be resting up off of it.
     
  7. wan37

    wan37 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got it to run right now with the cns ya. The barrel wasn't seated in the idle spot....Well seen that and jump for joy and I took the top off and drop the little the eclip on the needle shaft 2 notches and put the vent hose back on and what a difference its awesome now..Thanks for the help this form is awesome.....wee.
     
  8. Goat Herder

    Goat Herder Gutter Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,250
    Likes Received:
    2
    (p):)(^)

    Good deal!!
     

Share This Page