Can I Make This Work?!?!?!?!?!?! I'm new here.....

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by All_Around_Biker, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. All_Around_Biker

    All_Around_Biker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Trek mountain bike that i want to put a Flying Hourse 66/80cc kit on from Bikeberry.com. I have not ordered it yet because of a little problem i might have. Now the problem i'm having some trouble with right now is the four shifter cables that run along the top of the down tube...If i mount the gas tank where i want to it will pinch those cables between the tank and the frame and i wont be able to use them...is there a way around this?? I'd really like to not buy another bike when i have a perfectly good bike right now! Please give me some feedback and any input or solution will be greatly appreciated!!!!!!! THANK YOU ALL!!!!
     
  2. Toadmund

    Toadmund New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    Put them between the tank and the frame!
     
  3. All_Around_Biker

    All_Around_Biker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are the cables i need to work around..will it still work???
     
  4. All_Around_Biker

    All_Around_Biker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    cant post a picture. google trek 4100 and you'll see what i've got to work with. THANKS!!!!!!!
     
  5. Moto

    Moto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can take out the cables, put housing over them and it should work. Or just mount the tank on a rear rack behind the seat.
     
  6. Toadmund

    Toadmund New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, get rid of those stupid two piece cable sheaths and go out and buy a couple of one piece cable sheaths.
    Put the tank in between the cable retainers (or file off the front retainer or rubber spacers) and put the 1 piece cables under the tank where the bolts are.
    Every bike I've ever had were replaced by 1 piece cables, the 2 piece design is not worth your time.
     
    #6 Toadmund, Mar 21, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  7. maniac57

    maniac57 Old, Fat, and still faster than you

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    You can easily cut a small spacer for the mounts to keep it from pinching the cables. I use sections of old handgrip, but almost anything will work. Just cut or drill grooves to allow the cables to slide.
     
  8. Legwon

    Legwon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Toadmund has the right idea. unless u wanna end up with a hole in the tank.
    i rode my old engine with the eyelets still in and had MAJOR problems with brakes and other things. when i went to install my second engine, i looked at the tank... had MAJOR denting in the bottom from hitting, banging, and crushing the eyelets.
    get rid of the eyelets, and use 1 peice cable under the tank. use zap straps if u dont wanna put the cable in the tank clamps.
     
  9. Nehmo

    Nehmo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    If the cables are in the way, either re-route the cables, or accommodate them somehow.
    But maybe you should review the tube names first.
     
  10. Maxvision

    Maxvision New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice art work Nehmo! I mean that! Very creative.
     

Share This Page