Ask a specific question

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by deacon, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. Prasinos

    Prasinos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    when buying a fuel filter can a standard car fuel filter work even though designed for unmixed fuel? I see no reason why it shouldent due to the fact that they are designed for such high flow the oil shouldent get filtered out.
     
  2. CMA_Decky

    CMA_Decky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any thoughts on what grade of gas to use? Would a higher octane hurt or help the engine. What about a higher quality company like chevron gas?
     
  3. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    14

    Yes you can :)
     
  4. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    14
    These have such low compression higher octane really does not help. I just use the cheapest gas I can find.
     
  5. Prasinos

    Prasinos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chevron and all other gas stations all use the same gasoline. This is because no gas vendor uses a private pipeline system. Basically the only differences between vendors are the chemicals added to the gas by the companies at the stations. These additives are designed to do anything from cleaning fuel injectors to preventing carbon buildup. They do little to nothing for complicated modern engines and they surely would not effect a little two stroke.

    Personally I buy the cheapest gas I find, but if it makes you feel better paying a little extra for name brand, at around 150mpg I don't think its gonna break the bank.
     
  6. stuartracing

    stuartracing New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    I beleive these motors were built to run in countrys where their fuel is the cheapest fuel and lowest quality around.....So I use the lowest octane gas I can get 87 octane.....
    Paul....
     
  7. Prasinos

    Prasinos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    My post explained that all gasoline sold in the United States is the same quality, because the pipelines throughout America do not pump each companies gas separately.
     
  8. stuartracing

    stuartracing New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I understood it....I was just explaining that they were made to use low octane fuel and really no need to use high octane fuel in them unless you have ultra high compression.....Sorry for the mis understanding....

    Paul.....
     
  9. Prasinos

    Prasinos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey has anyone been able to measure the voltage coming off of their motor. The multi meter i use cant read the voltage even with a 2200 micro farad capacitor connected to it. After hooking up some lights and having them fail i think the engine might put out more than 7.5 volts.
     
  10. Norman

    Norman LORD VADER Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,605
    Likes Received:
    1
    its an ac voltage best I can tell if you all want lights I can start selling them again I didn't get much in responce last year and they take me a lot of work to make all of its powered off the white wire or I can sell you all just the bulb then the light fixture is up to you.
    Norman
     
  11. skjjoe

    skjjoe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Norman id like to have one of those lights i email you but i guess you haven't seen that. whats the cost on the light or just the bulb.
     
  12. Prasinos

    Prasinos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to know how/when can I start a thread
     
  13. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    14
    You can start a new thread whenever you would like.

    When you decide on which forum you would like to start a new thread in, at the top (above "threads in this forum") you will see a sprocket that says "New Thread"

    Click on that enter the title of your thread and type away.

    If I did not explain it clear enough, just ask again.

    Here is a pic of the New Thread sprocket.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Ronzworld

    Ronzworld Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    anyone try one of the reed kits or walbro carbs from JNMotors ? Just wondering what they are like ... I have had some experience with these carbs a few years back on snowmoble engines and had good adjustability with the needle jets ...

    Anyway I have a stage 2 kit ordered w/reed valve set up so I will keep you posted

    Ride with Pride !!
    Ron.
     

Share This Page