Anybody Land Sail?

GoldenMotor.com

MEASURE TWICE

Jul 13, 2010
CA
I have done back in 2010 on the desert floor of Black Rock Desert Nevada. I don't own a board for it but I have been windsurfing since 1985.

I got a RC Model Trike Sailor that I try using, but I have move away from where strong thermal winds were the norm nearly every other day Spring to Fall.

I'm still waiting treatment for arthritis of my neck where it affected my nerve path. My left hand is partially numb and super sensitive to touch with pain and up my arm to shoulder painful. I still try RC land sailing with my yacht.

I am hoping to convince an outdoor skating rink that is only open in the Winter to allow time on there rink when no one is on it to sail my rc land yacht with the ice runners on it. I've used them once on 8 feet thick ice in Wisconsin when three was a regatta that life size boats where out there.

If you count other types of life size boats, I've been sailing 50 years. started with AMF Sail Fish on lakes.

What are the wheels and suspension on the Land Sailor you have, do you only go on smooth asphalt or cement?

A friend who land sails had some shopping center chase him away. Possible other places are large parking lots without wheel stops or trees at business on weekends if they close or government shut down areas.

Wear some protective padding when you sail. I did OK, but never learned to come about or jibe. I'd try not to let it get going to fast and then slow in time I could stop and not jump off running, risking both rig and myself.