2 Stroke Vs. 4 Stroke

Alex Behan

Oct 21, 2021
New Bern, NC
So I’ve been seeing a lot of back and forth between the people who prefer 2 Strokes over the 4 Strokes and vise versa, and I was wondering which is actually the best overall. And why is that the best? I’m new to all of this and I would like to make an informed decision before I spend the money. So I would really love you’ll guys’ help and expertise on this subject.
Thanks!
-Alex

Greg58

May 1, 2011
Newnan,Georgia U.S.A.
This question is like asking if a Ford is better than a Chevy or Dodge, everyone has their preference. I can't help with four strokes since I haven't owned a four stroke bicycle. I have owned several dirt bike of both types, in smaller cc engines 2-stroke is easy to install. The four stroke will require a little more work, members like VMB who has built many of both could help a lot more.

Reactions: Alex Behan

Venice Motor Bikes

Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles
Mar 20, 2008
Los Angeles, CA.
I personally think the 2-strokes are more fun, (not to mention faster, lighter, easier to install & less expensive)... The down side is that they're less reliable & you have to mix gas & oil together to fill the tank.

The 49cc 4-strokes are slower, heavier, harder to install, less powerful & more expensive... but the up side is that they last longer & you can simply pull into a gas station & fill the tank if you run out of gas.... also as mentioned by Greg is that the only 49cc transmission that I'll use is the 7G Ghost Racer by GasBike.net... It has a very reliable bely drive (without a freewheel)... All the others IMHO are junk.

The larger 4-strokes (like the 212cc) have tons of power, but they're very difficult to install (& keep maintained).

zean

Dec 5, 2010
california
If you are able to purchase (they are hard to find) and ride a well built 212cc motorized bicycle you will never be the same. You won’t be able to say, “I ain’t never had too much fun.”

Alex Behan

Oct 21, 2021
New Bern, NC