Stripped choke lever screw

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by jasonh, Sep 9, 2008.

  1. jasonh

    jasonh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, my choke lever has been a little loose lately, and at higher rpms the incoming airflow will suck it halfway closed.

    Last night I went to tighten the nut a little bit, and the darn thing stripped. I barely touched it, lol. Now the lever is so loose just trying to start the bike will move it around. Couldn't even get the bike started this morning :(

    Any suggestions on a suitable replacement idea?
     
  2. jasonh

    jasonh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anybody? I head home in 30min and I need to figure something out...
     
  3. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm sorry Jason, your post must have slipped by me.....

    Now that I think about it, I dont remember how the choke is attached?

    You cant re-chase the threads?
     
  4. jasonh

    jasonh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's attached with a bolt that has 2 flat sides, and very little thread - obviously easy to strip. There is a nut inside the air cleaner.

    What I ended up doing is adding an extra washer to it so the threads the nut grabs are ok. Only a temporary fix I think.

    What makes me mad is I took off the carb to fix the stupid choke lever initially, then the thing strips. Now that I have it fixed, I rode to work today with crappy power, surging up and down, and a nice gas leak from the carb somewhere. Wondering if the float is stuck or something. Bah.
     
  5. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    12
    I was thinking just file a grove in their and add a e-clip...but it probably will not be tight enough and your choke will close on ya.

    Maybe just a bolt & nut with some O-rings?
     
  6. velardejose

    velardejose New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    Maybe it is the perfect excuse for an upgrade
    You could control the choke lever with a cable+shift lever
    Peace
     
  7. wildemere

    wildemere New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what I do...

    Holds it down or up or in between
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Biker Mike

    Biker Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great mod...I hate searching for the darn lever while trying to start the engine (Several close calls) :crash:. I will use this...THANKS for the pic. (^)
     
  9. velardejose

    velardejose New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Better than my idea
    Thanks for the tip
    Peace
     
  10. jasonh

    jasonh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually I think a cable+shift lever is a great idea.

    I personally don't use the choke while riding though, except to kill the motor (haven't gotten around to getting a kill switch). I start the bike by picking up the rear via the seat and kick the pedals over. Usually takes once on full choke, and once on half choke and it fires right up.
     
  11. Biker Mike

    Biker Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I like the rod mod (no pun intended rotfl) best. I have enough cables flopping around and tied up as it is. Although both are better than the alternative. (^)
     

Share This Page