Springer seat without fabrication

GoldenMotor.com

Zarro

May 5, 2023
Is there a good type of springer seat out there that doesn't need fabrication? I don't have access to welding equipment, but I can modify the frame by drilling into it if necessary.

Ideas?

Venice Motor Bikes

Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles
Mar 20, 2008
Los Angeles, CA.
So let me get this straight?, You're concerned that a heavy duty steel fork might snap, but you're considering drilling holes into an aluminum frame???

'Interesting'

Zarro

May 5, 2023
So let me get this straight?, You're concerned that a heavy duty steel fork might snap, but you're considering drilling holes into an aluminum frame???

'Interesting'
How else would you mount a springer seat without welding?

That is what I have heard about those forks, I was just asking. I am still very new to this hobby.

And the holes created for some bolts for a seat aren't huge. I could even get a duel-threaded steel rod to put through to make up for drilling the holes.

Mossy

May 20, 2022
I don't like aluminum frames... I'm heavy 240# and can snap a steel frame with no engine going 1mph... It's the vibration that aluminum doesn't like and chasing cracks in a frame all the time isn't as bad as steel and steel is more forgiving to weld... My first mo-bike had about 4lbs of mig wire in it after about 4 years of flat beach road use... Aluminum... Gets it's strength from a thin layer of oxidation on the surface... Anodized or polished helps smooth out the surface... Steel is strong all the way through the metal... And don't drill holes anywhere on any frame... Weld in gussets close gaps round and smooth everything out so it's one solid piece... Bicycle is made to flex... A motorized bicycle is made so it doesn't... Or not as much as best you can... A BmX Dirt jump frame in 26" would be the only aluminum frame I would consider if I absolutely had to have aluminum... And it would fold where a chromolly DJ frame would total a Prius ;)