Speedo Comp Interference Issues

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle Accessories' started by ezrider, Jul 29, 2016.

  1. ezrider

    ezrider New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whats the best way to overcome this ? Spark plug suppressors ? Insulation ?
     
  2. Agreen

    Agreen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    1
    Grounded wire shield. In other words, use a braided steel sheath around the wires and connect it (electrically) to the frame of the bike.
     
  3. ezrider

    ezrider New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great, now I just gotta find where they sell that kind of stuff.
     
  4. ezrider

    ezrider New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. sbest

    sbest New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or aluminum foil held with black tape, with a ground wire.

    Put the coil as far from the speedo as you can.

    Steve
     
  6. ezrider

    ezrider New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    You mean something like THIS ??


    _
     
  7. 2door

    2door Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16,294
    Likes Received:
    11
  8. ezrider

    ezrider New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well maybe analog is the way to go then.

    _
     
  9. ezrider

    ezrider New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    Okay folks, gonna need some feedback on this so I'd know if I should take a chance on this product. Has anyone ever used a Bell Wireless Cyclocomputer on a motorized bike, or similar speedo comp....and if it actually WORKED ?

    _
     
  10. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,198
    Likes Received:
    8
    I am using one right now.

    At first, every time I fired my bike up it would reset the speedo. But once the motor was up and running it worked fine.

    Then, the battery went dead very shortly after purchase. I installed new battery's and the resetting after start up went away?

    I used a wireless one years ago, was not a Bell do not remember the brand? But that one I had no trouble with it whatsoever.
     
  11. ezrider

    ezrider New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll see what happens with Bell. Thanks.
     

Share This Page