Pro Full 8" Suspension 4 Stroke Friction Drive

GoldenMotor.com
Jul 18, 2018
Hello, I am a Mechanical Machine Designer, BMX and Mountain Bike rider, I have been a Professional Machine Designer for 30 years.

Mathematics and Drive Design Calculations are my strong point.

I needed a strong bike with good suspension and brakes that could take me to visit my 90 year old Mother in a retirement village which is a 30 mile or 50 km ride, which I do once a week.

As a fan of the Shell Eco Marathons and the fastest bicycles in the world like the record set by Sam Wittingham just pedaling 133 km/h I decided to put my 30 years of Machine Design Experience to good use and design the Ultimate Friction Drive for a Bicycle so I can travel long distances economically and get physically fit at the same time.

I have had the bike for eight years its a Kona Stab Deluxe, I have done more than 1200 Miles or 2000 km using the friction drive and I still have the original tires on the bike Maxis Hookworms for road use.

Bike Drive Specifications:

Mounts onto the seat post with two U-Bolts in 10 minutes
A modular spring loaded swing arm unit that any one can easily install.
Suspension travel up to 10 inches or 250 mm
Tire wear: 8 years 50% still to go
Fuel Consumption: 140 mpg or 1.68 L/100 km
Engine: 35cc Four stroke Honda
Fuel Tank Size: 0.16 US gallon or 0.63 Liters
Engine Weight: 7.2 lbs or 3.3 kg
Engine Power: 1.3 hp or 1 kW or 1000 Watts
Engine torque: 1.18 ft-lb or 1.6 Nm or 0.163 kg at 1 meter
Range per Tank: 23 miles or 38 km
Speed: 22 Mph or 35 km/h @ 7000 rpm engine revs to 10 000 rpm
Material used for drive chassis: 304 Stainless Steel
Drive weight excluding engine: 7 lbs or 3.2 kg.
Drive bearings dynamic loading is 1474 lbs or 670 kg each so friction drive slippage can be completely eliminated via increasing spring loading.
Stainless Steel Drive shaft has a unique shape that complements grip and does not wear the tire down even in the rain.