My first build

GoldenMotor.com

slappy

Jun 8, 2016
United Kingdom
Hello all

I am new to the forum and this is my first build, I have always loved early Indians and have quite a few old bikes and old cars, I got to ride an electric Grey Ghost a couple of years back and was hocked, a couple of weekends back I was at a hot rod show and bumped into a friend who had his bike in front of his trade stand, and after a bit of a chat it turned out he had a spare frame so a hand shake was made and I am now a proud owner of a Motobecane MB1 1920's frame, I have a long way to go

slappy

Jun 8, 2016
United Kingdom
Thanks guys I have already looked at quite a few threads and will be asking lots of questions , I am going to be leaving the frame as it is and treating it to a coat of ankur wax I managed to get hold of a tank from France next item on my list is a pair of old girder forks

indian22

Dec 31, 2014
Oklahoma
Welcome & nice finds on the frame and tank. This is one of my all time favorite mopeds. Will you be going full restoration with the 175 cc 2 cycle, belt drive & pedal start for power?

The Motobecane MB-1 is relatively rare stateside yet I see them offered at auction often in the UK & on the continent. They really are quite elegant, one of the few mopeds with pretty fenders & the original tank is a thing of beauty & a joy forever!

Lacing a Motobecane drum brake to the front wheel might be prudent if this is to be a "rider" as well.

I look forward to watching your progress & predict a wonderful outcome.

Rick C.

Ludwig II

Jul 17, 2012
UK
The logical engine from an English supply point of view is a 98 Villiers, but a French 2 stroke shouldn't be difficult, nor even a Sachs or ILO from the 1930s.

slappy

Jun 8, 2016
United Kingdom
Welcome & nice finds on the frame and tank. This is one of my all time favorite mopeds. Will you be going full restoration with the 175 cc 2 cycle, belt drive & pedal start for power?