I need some great tips here please!

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by NerpAngel, May 26, 2010.

  1. drhofferber

    drhofferber New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    here is the intake pic from spooky tooth...has never come with the kits...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JTinFL

    JTinFL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    That offset intake was included with a CNS carb from Spooky Tooth.Is used to solve the clearance problem you're having.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Cabinfever1977

    Cabinfever1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1
    You will not loose any power on the offset intake, that sure is a nice one, wish i had that on my first build.
     
  4. Hawaii_Ed

    Hawaii_Ed New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heya, I was moving and missed the thread LOL!

    Yes, I have a big frame 4300. I am 6 feet and 200 lbs, and I bought it years ago as a pedal commuter. I think it is a 19 or even 20 inch frame.

    all the tips so far are great, you can also try flipping that mount 180 degrees, so the holes are below the engine. I have mine mounted that way. Other than that, it looks like the low profile filter from sick bike parts might work on there? It is going to be close for sure!

    All of my build is over here:
    New performance bike build - MotoredBikes.com: Motorized Bicycle Forum

    Ed
     
  5. NerpAngel

    NerpAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey so it looks like you put sheaths over your cables on the top? That's my only problem right now.. I can't figure out how to get the gas tank on without squishing those little cables!!! :(
     
  6. NerpAngel

    NerpAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was reading your post and saw that a couple times you fixed up your shift kit by moving things around like gears and chains? Isn't it hard to move the sprockets when you've locked the set keys in with some sort of locking compound?
     
  7. dag_29307

    dag_29307 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey NerpAngel the easiest way to run your cables below the tank with out crushing them is to use foam pipe insulation under the tank an put the cables between the foam and the top tube this will also help to hold your tank in place.
     
  8. NerpAngel

    NerpAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    foam pipe stuff cheap? haha. I'm looking for the cheapest way to get my gas tank on here.
     
  9. dag_29307

    dag_29307 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheap? heck yeah! it only costs like 3 bucks for about twelve feet. LOL you can pick it up at any hardware store.
     
  10. NerpAngel

    NerpAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    you da man!
    So do you cut the pipe in a u shape then and have the cable run under it?
     
  11. dag_29307

    dag_29307 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    here is what it looks like it is just foam rubber you put around your pipes to keep them from freezing in the winter. You just put that between your top bar and the tank with the cables under it and you are good to go.

    here...Shop Frost King 1/2" x 6' Self-Seal Rubber Pipe Insulation at Lowes.com[com.lowes.commerce.storelocator.beans.LocatorStoreBean%4032a17c%2C+com.lowes.commerce.storelocator.beans.LocatorStoreBean%40502f217c%2C+com.lowes.commerce.storelocator.beans.LocatorStoreBean%405571e172%2C+com.lowes.commerce.storelocator.beans.LocatorStoreBean%40194b6170%2C+com.lowes.commerce.storelocator.beans.LocatorStoreBean%4048086176]&NttParam=&Ntt=pipe+insulation&isQvSearch=searchQV&URL=TopCategoriesDisplayView&langId=-1&langId=-1&mastheadURL=TopCategoriesDisplayView&storeId=10151&storeId=10151&Ntk=i_products&qvRedirect=%2Fpd_21364-1410-RS510XB%2F6_0_%3FproductId%3D3132405%26Ntt%3Dpipe+insulation%26Ntk%3Di_products&ddkey=http:productDisplay
     

    Attached Files:

  12. NerpAngel

    NerpAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really now.. weird it wouldn't catch squeeze the cables to the frame :) btw here's a picture of my cables just to show you what I'm dealing with..

    [​IMG]
     
  13. JTinFL

    JTinFL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps you could cut a piece of PVC pipe lengthwise,1/2" or 3/4",dependant on the size of your tube.Then bevel edges to conform to tube diameter.Then use rubber electrical splicing tape to hold in place and give gripping for gas tank.Just a thought.
     
  14. taddthewadd

    taddthewadd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could build/buy a cylindrical gas tank to go behind the seat. It would look better too.
     
  15. dag_29307

    dag_29307 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok now that's a horse of a different color. Why don't you get a couple pieces of stiff rubber like that from a hockey puck and use a dremel or a drill to make two holes through it then cut it to shape. and put that on your frame over your cables so your cables will run under it. use tape to hold that in place and mount your tank on those. Or you could build your own tank. It's not that hard if you can solder. I just made my first tank and it was not as hard as I thought it was gonna be.
     

    Attached Files:

    #35 dag_29307, Jun 2, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2010
  16. NerpAngel

    NerpAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok guys.. i don't know why i didn't say this before.. But the studs that come off the tank won't fit around my frame!!! :( what do i do!!?????
     
  17. drhofferber

    drhofferber New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey nerp..get that package???I have a large tube frame and i didnt have problem...other than i went to lowes and got a set of copper straps in the plumbing section..the are soft and plyable...works great...talk to me...just sent another...Dennis
     
    #37 drhofferber, Jun 4, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2010
  18. NerpAngel

    NerpAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya man it totally got here!!! I freaked out and ran out to my back garage to try them. Sadly the short one doesn't give my carb enough room, but the offset one works perfectly! :O!

    What did you do with the set of copper straps? I'm confused...
     
  19. drhofferber

    drhofferber New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    nerp...if you want to use the small one you have to cut about 1/2 in off that small screw in piece...good luck...have fun...i'll send a pic on the straps...
     
  20. CoastalCruiser

    CoastalCruiser New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess it's too late to mention a 4-6 inch peice of flexible heater hose?
     

Share This Page