Hey

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Brent436, Feb 14, 2010.

1. Brent436

Brent436 New Member

Hey everyone,

I recently put a Grubee 48cc motor on my bike. I've had some problems so I came looking for some help. I graduated top of my automotive class in tech school and have a lot of experience with engines. I'm kind of embarrassed that I have to come asking for help but I just can't seem to get the motor running.

The first time I tried to start it the motor took a while to start up. When it finally started it ran real rough and i would have to keep hitting the throttle to keep it running. While it was running it seemed to backfire a lot. After that I stopped the engine and couldnt get it started again. I Have spark and its getting gas. I have sealed the carb and am waiting for the RTV to cure to try it again. Any suggestions to what else could be the problem would be appreciated. Once I'm considered an active member I will post this in the troubleshooting section. Thanks for all your help.

-Brent

2. professor

professor New Member

Hi Brent, welcome to motorbicycling! I think you located the problem. Definitely lean.

3. 2door

2door Moderator
    Staff Member

Welcome Brent,
    You've come to the right place for help and no need to feel bad about asking for it. We all had to start where you are. The Professor is right; sounds like a lean condition most likely from an air leak in the intake/carb area. Get back to us if this doesn't take care of your problem. We're here to help.
    Tom

4. Brent436

Brent436 New Member

Back again guys,