Friction drive kit questions

GoldenMotor.com

lucajo16

Dec 12, 2013
cincinnati, ohio
Hello everyone i had a question for anyone who can touch up on the subject.
Im new to 4 strokes and im buying this from bike berry soon. This is my first 4 stroke and my first friction drive and i was woundering what i can do to improve the size of the tank as well as keep my tires from balding out as quick. Any advice will help. I dont wanna go with a chain drive just yet. I got a gas frame im doing that with. This is just until i get my other bike finished or i get a car (( whatever happens first))

Here is the kit in question : http://www.bikeberry.com/gas-engine...iction-drive-bicycle-engine-kit-4-stroke.html

cannonball2

Oct 28, 2010
Colonial Coast USA.
The problem with smaller FDs is the use a small roller in order to have a useable ratio. The small roller tends to spin out fairly easily wearing tires pretty fast. Tire size and design is important also. The best tire is a 2.125 cruiser tire (Hookworms too) as it has a faltter top profile. Also tire pressure and down force are critical. I have many miles on several types of FD. I run 30psi and have enough deflection of the tire to have the roller depressed fully into it for max contact. Smaller profile tires and higher pressures just don't work well.

About a larger fuel tank, since your engine has a pumper carb just about any tank that you can mount in the vicinity of the engine will work. The common tank in the 66cc kits could be used. A 3 liter tank would be a good choice.

lucajo16

Dec 12, 2013
cincinnati, ohio
I wanna ask a question as well about the friction drive....that tank on the stock engine....how many miles to the gallon can I get? I know I can just stop and refuel sense its a 4 stroke but I don't wanna stop every 3 miles if that's the case. What is the actual milage of the tank?

bonefish

May 7, 2018