15 year old builder, new to this forum.

GoldenMotor.com

toby w

Jul 25, 2023
hi iv'e just moved over from motored bikes forum to this one. Im a 15 year old builder with two of the 66cc kits built. and a custom honda gx160 powered 4 stroke build. I live in a hilly area and both of the two stroke kits burnt up after just a few hours of running. they always overheat even only a 2 or 3 minutes after starting them. Im starting a new build of a 2 stroke and need some advice, but I will put that in another thread. I just thought I'd introduce myself. i'll add a few photos of my past builds. (
IMG_3997.jpeg
I'm in the uk where these bikes aren't very popular)

Attachments

Venice Motor Bikes

Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles
Mar 20, 2008
Los Angeles, CA.
Hi & welcome to the forum...

The very first thing that came to my mind when I read your post is that there's zero reason TWO new engines should overheat & burn up so soon after their first start up!

How much oil are you mixing in the gas? (& what kind of oil)??
& you're not trying to break-in the engine standing still, (are you)???

wrench

Aug 20, 2019
So Cal
Yeah, 2 engine's should not burn up the first day,
LIke Venice said what's your oil mix ?

Is that a score mark on the piston?
Is the pin that holds the ring in place still there?
What's the inside of the cyl look like?

These New engines, the case should be checked for metal shavings or casting slag
Also clean off any casting slag from the ports or anywhere else ya see it

Last edited:
Reactions: Mossy and fasteddy

toby w

Jul 25, 2023
both used conventional oil with a 25 to 1 mix that was mixed in a separate fuel can.
I didnt check the engines for casting flaws but the engines were broken in by riding around at about 15 to 20 miles an hour. I have quite a few steep hills that peak at about a 20 to 25 percent grade. but I always peddled if i needed to.

those are score marks on the piston
both wrist pin clips are still there