why would it run fast?

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by jf30cp, Jul 24, 2008.

  1. jf30cp

    jf30cp New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    so i rode my bike to work today and it was all good. then on the way home, it seemed to want to rev. cruising along half throttle and pull in the clutch let off the gas and it wants to stay at that half throttle, idling very fast. turned the idle way down and it still kept wanting to maintain the rev. I only have 100 miles on this new whip... anyone know?
    jeff
     
  2. Ilikeabikea

    Ilikeabikea Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    It could be the throttle cable needs adjusting. Check it at the carb and make sure it is not vibrating out. That would keep the throttle partially open. It could be an intake leak. These engines are notorious for that.........................
     
  3. Motoschwinn

    Motoschwinn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you are just on your second tank?
     
  4. Saddletramp1200

    Saddletramp1200 Custom MB Buiilder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Throttle cable binding? Did you oil the new cable? Some times one gets overlooked.
     
  5. Bikeguy Joe

    Bikeguy Joe Godfather of Motorized Bicycles

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,529
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm sayin' air leak.
     
  6. TCBCustoms

    TCBCustoms New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here, if theres and air leak its running very lean, I would fix it before it causes damage!
     
  7. jf30cp

    jf30cp New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok boys you were right. The gasket seal i put on the intake where the carb clamps down broke loose. So I took it off and cleaned up all the left over gasket sealer and re-sealed it...let it set up for abour 4 hours and ran it again...works great now! thanks guys!
     

Share This Page