Need help with install

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by bstansbu, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. bstansbu

    bstansbu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys! Im a noob and have been lurking here a while. First off, i suck at mechanic stuff. So after about 1 month of fiddling around with my install, I need help now. The instructions as you all know that came with the kit, are horible. I am ready to install the clutch cable. Where do I connect it on the motor? Any one have good close up pics of where it goes and tips to install.

    Also, I put my throttle on the right side, screwed it on, then screwed the end of throttle cable to the top of the carb. I tried to twist the throttle, but it does not twist at all. Any help with these last 2 things and I might finaly be riding this thing. please help guys.

    Thanks!!

    BEN
     

    Attached Files:

  2. misteright1_99

    misteright1_99 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a link to a post by Norman, there are some hand drawn pics that show the mounting of the clutch cable, As for the throttle, will it twist if NOT hooked up to the cable? Some are a VERY tight fit over the handlebars and stick.....

    http://motorbicycling.com/f4/bicycle-engine-clutch-222.html
     
  3. Bikeguy Joe

    Bikeguy Joe Godfather of Motorized Bicycles

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,529
    Likes Received:
    4
    Did you get the throttle cable hooked into the slide and down inside the carb correctly?
    You should be able to remove the slide/cable/spring assembly and operate the slide outside the carb.
     
  4. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    17
  5. Creative Engineering

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can you post a photo of the throttle?

    Jim
     
  6. misteright1_99

    misteright1_99 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like the clutch is hooked up correctly, if you have all the slack out of the cable....You REALLY dont need the second spring ( the one nearest the end ) just makes the pull harder......
     
  7. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes. my clutch works just fine....all I need is my pinkie finger to use the clutch.
     
  8. bstansbu

    bstansbu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No pics yet, however, I took the throttle off and then put it back on and now the throttle works fine I think. I havent gotten to start the engine yet so not sure if the cable is in the carb correctly. i think it is though.
     
  9. bstansbu

    bstansbu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet! thats what I needed, some good close up pics. I will try to get it set like yours. Do I need to take anything apart from the cable to get it to go through that first piece on the motor? Also, Looking at your pics and the way the clutch arm is set in relation to the chain, what position is the clutch lever on your handle bars set. Thanks again!

    Ben
     
  10. Creative Engineering

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ben,

    Do the two half casings for the throttle meet together flush?

    On all of the kits we have installed there is a protrusion inside one of the two halves of the throttle casing. It is intended that you drill a hole in the handle bars so that the throttle locks in place. Otherwise the casing will stand off from the handlebar and cause the throttle to bind.

    Jim
     
  11. bstansbu

    bstansbu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    I got it to work, but I now see what you mean with the protrusion. i think i will take it off again and drill a hole so that it will seat flush. thanks jim!

    Ok, clutch cable is installed now thanks to you guys. Whether it is working i do not know yet. Throttle also works I think. I am now trying to get the chain on. Its proving to be difficult.Small sproket on engine seems real close to engine, maybe not enough room for chain there. Ill do some searching on this site for propper way to put on chain.

    Ben
     
  12. Creative Engineering

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh man!!!

    You've got one of the "New" kits out of China!

    I'm not sure what Hong Kong and the gang may have chaged in production; but the "sprocket too close to the engine casting" thing has been prevalent lately!

    You will have to remove the sprocket and shim it.

    Jim
     
  13. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    17
    I read in your last post you got the cable hooked up
    (^)

    But I am unclear by your question "what position is the clutch lever on your handle bars set" ??
     
  14. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    17

Share This Page