Motorized Axle Mount Mountain Bike

GoldenMotor.com

MotorizedBikeRider

Sep 19, 2022
Cottage Grove, OR
This is a motorized axle mount bike I just finished:

Huffy Rangeline 27.5" 21 speed, disc brakes
33cc 2 stroke (I live in Oregon, legal size limit is 35cc)
40 teeth large sproket
10 teeth small sprocket
Tear drop gas tank
Speedometer

I removed the rear disc brake, and mounted the large sprocket using the disc brake mount holes. I put on a caliper brake, but braking performance is less than stellar, so I am making a bracket (I am a machinist) for a v-brake set up, which should perform better. Wheel rim is anodized and probably I need to remove it to improve stopping power, but, am waiting the v-brake parts to determine if this is needed.

My focus was not speed, I wanted this to be slower, maybe top speed of 20-25 at most, but I easily go 32mph. Cruises real nice at 20mph, I live out in the country about 5 miles from town, I've been driving into town each day, no problems at all. The motor is very LOUD, sometimes I turn motor off while driving downtown and pedal, but not always.

Climbs hills great, no need to pedal when starting off, but sometimes I pedal anyway.

motorizedbikerider
AxleDrive-20220919-1.JPG
AxleDrive-20220919-2.JPG
AxleDrive-20220919-3.JPG
AxleDrive-20220919-4.JPG
AxleDrive-20220919-5.JPG
AxleDrive-20220919-6.JPG

Last edited:

Sidewinder Jerry

Dec 19, 2011
Rockwood, TN
You didn't say how much your reduction gearbox is. I live in the mountains of Tennessee. I have a 4-stroke 33cc shifter bike and can drop the reduction range as low as 66.79\1. I also weigh 235 lbs and my bike weighs around 100 lbs. Always pedal on taking off. This will save your clutch. Mine has held up for 12 years.