Mag rims for fat tires, or "Do spokes really break so easy?"

GoldenMotor.com

kaygo

Nov 19, 2019
The bike I got earlier this spring, it came with 24"x3" Kenda Flame fat tires, and I want to keep the tires for my build. Obviously it's my first build, else I wouldn't be asking about the spokes. Anyway, I heard about how the extra torque has a tendency to snap them like twigs, and I figured the best way to get around that was mag rims.

Lo and behold, 'twould appear there be none such a beast for yon tyres. Honest, I've looked. Widdled away seven hours on Google.

waynesdata

Jul 10, 2017
On most bike the drive chain will not clear 3" rear tire without going with jack shaft setup. Even 2.5 can be a very tight fit on most bikes.

kaygo

Nov 19, 2019
Okay, but a jackshaft is easier to find than the rims, which are what I'm concerned about at this moment.

lewdog7431

Feb 13, 2019
Idea, maby try to offset the motor mount plate so the engine sits further to the left sticks out a little more and possibly clear the fat tire also I do think they actually make a bracket for the engine to be offset I'm not sure which companies sell it but I seen it somewhere

Reactions: indian22

kelly dean

Oct 3, 2019
kentucky
Idea, maby try to offset the motor mount plate so the engine sits further to the left sticks out a little more and possibly clear the fat tire also I do think they actually make a bracket for the engine to be offset I'm not sure which companies sell it but I seen it somewhere
that depends on the bike frame, my OCC runs a 4.25 rear tire width and the motor mount offsets the engine to do that, but its nothing like a standard V frame..the mount i currently use was ebay you can see the mount in the picture.... kelly

Attachments

lewdog7431

Feb 13, 2019