Kansas motorized bicycle law

Brendan272

New Member
Apr 8, 2019
4
0
1
19
i am building a motorized bike and I can’t seem to find the current, current correct laws for Kansas. The places I’ve looked all say different things. Some say that it’s still considered a bicycle and doesn’t require registration if it’s less than 1 horsepower. Some say that if it has a motor on it, it requires registration. If I have to register it as a moped, how would I do that? There’s no vin so it can’t be registered. I actually bought an 80cc kit but since you can’t tell the different unless you take it apart the motor I’m calling it a 49cc for legal purposes. What could I tell police when they stop me that would make the bike legal? I’m just very confused on the current laws in Kansas. I need to know how I can ride my “49” cc bike legally. Can I just call it 1 horsepower and say it can’t go more than 20mph? Or do I need to somehow register it?
 

Brendan272

New Member
Apr 8, 2019
4
0
1
19
I think I figured it out, in Kansas, motorized bicycles are NOT considered motor vehicles. No matter what cc or how powerful they are, they have to be titled and registered to be operated on the Kansas roadways. So if you live in Kansas, a loophole to being able to ride them legally, since they are not considered motorized vehicles they can be ridden on bike trails, sidewalks, private property, etc... just not the road.
 

O.S.I.

New Member
Apr 17, 2019
1
0
1
33
Hi I'm in Kansas too. Actually as long as the motor is under 49cc and can be pedaled or has pedals it has the same laws as a normal bicycle. You can ride it on roadways but must follow the rules set forth for bicycles such as keep right and signal turns etc.The 80cc is a 49cc by all appearances so you shouldn't have to worry unless you get stopped by a hard a** cop lol. I've been riding mine for 4 years where I live and I've been followed and waived at by police but never pulled over.