1st build and I seek guidance and wisdom.

GoldenMotor.com

Chris Doe

Jul 25, 2022
Hello all I would like to start by saying thank you! These forums have been really helpful and the collective knowledge is impressive to say the least.

With some help from youtube and these forums I have recently built my first motorized bicycle. Although I am new to these 2 stroke motors I am no stranger to mechanics. I have been a backyard mechanic for over 15 years and studied automotive technologies at a 2 year vocational school. However my experience with carburators is limited as most of the vehicles I have owned or repaired have been fuel injected. But enough about me and on to the bike.

I have a 26" Huffy Lockland with a 100cc 2 stroke motor I bought from ebay. Both the intake and exhaust ports are 40mm. I keep forgetting to measure piston but according to the listing it should be 50mm. It has the NT speed carb, speed demon exhaust and a 3 prong spark plug. Im currently running the stock 44t sprocket with rag joint and both the stock 4-bolt tensioner as well as a spring tensioner. The sole purpose of adding spring tensioner was to stretch the chain with as little adjustment and work as possible. The bike is just shy of 200 miles and I have not had to remove any links since fitting the chain, and have had zero chain issues. So I'd say it worked quite well! I do have a clam shell adapter to replace the rag joint and plan on deleting the extra tensioner and refitting the chain. I have a 38t sprocket that came with clam shell that would be easiest to install but I'm not sure if it will give me enough torque. I believe it will but I have a throttle issue that keeps coming back I want to iron out before choosing which sprocket to go with.