loose hub adapter

GoldenMotor.com

Zeeb

Apr 10, 2018
hi everyone, i'm new to the topic of motorized bike building, here goes my first post.
i'm building a motorized bike for the gf, and seem to have acquired a hub adapter that is too large for the hub.
see attached picture; adapter diameter is 1 3/16", but hub is 1 1/16" dia.

ideas on how to make it fit? ive tried wrapping tape around hub, but adapter always ends up off center, causing sprocket up-down wobble. a piece of hose, inner dia 1" outer dia 1.25" also did not work as a spacer. adapter would not squish over it as id hoped.

thanks!

Attachments

crassius

Sep 30, 2012
USA
if you can't get an adapter that fits, you need metal in there that is same thickness on both sides - I'd try sawing off a piece of old handlebar, split it down the middle to make 2 "C" sections, hammer it a bit as needed to fit tight on hub, then clamp with one piece under each side of clamp

crassius

Sep 30, 2012
USA
looking thru a bunch o' shims I've made, I see some that might have once been an old steering tube - very hard steel and a bit thinner than handlebar steel - might be just right

Zeeb

Apr 10, 2018
Thank you for the idea Crassius! I have some old pipe that might do the trick.

off topic, but is there a story behind your user name?

Zeeb

Apr 10, 2018
update; the "c section" spacers worked, the sprocket and adapter are mounted. however, the sprocket has some slight up-down wobble when rotating (total runout is less than 1/16"). Is it possible to get a cheap imported sprocket to rotate perfectly true? I know the up down wobble can cause chain issues.

bairdco

a guy who makes cool bikes
Aug 18, 2009
living the dream in southern california
Instead of using two C sections, you can try a beer can, or thin copper /sheet metal to wrap fully around the hub so you have no high spots.