Carb issue?

GoldenMotor.com

Daves Nel Lusso

Oct 19, 2021
Hi all, new member here. Great forum with lots of useful info! I have some experience with motorcycles but this is my first bike kit and It's been a lot of fun. I recently installed an 80cc kit on my Nel Lusso and I have about 1.5 tanks of gas through the machine.

My problem is that the bike is hard to start and floods as soon as it starts getting warmed up. I'll go into the boring details below to describe the problem and things I've tried after reading some threads here.

The bike build: Minus some loose nuts and bolts along the way and lots of oil spilling from the exhaust after riding, the bike ran great right out of the box. I didn't plan on doing any mods to the bike, at least not before breaking it in. I have been running 17:1 fuel, but switched to 25:1 since I started troubleshooting. At about 30 miles or so, the carb came loose and slipped off the intake while riding. I tightened everything up but it ran rich afterwards. It would start up (not as easy as when new), but flood as soon as things warmed up. I found out the carb tickler/primer was getting stuck in the down position and the choke continually closed itself due to riding vibration.

I couldn't get the primer to stop leaking so I bought a replacement " Speed" carburetor off Amazon and installed it with a new intake gasket, and offset intake. The bike runs exactly the same as before. Starts ok... Floods as soon as it gets warm.