First partial project: S&R motorized road bike

GoldenMotor.com

fabgear

Jul 28, 2013
Southfield, MI
Hi everyone,

This is my first post (other than my introduction), and it's my first project of sorts. I didn't start this, but while looking for a motor for what I am hoping to cobble together for myself I was offered this along with the motor I was trying to purchase for a deal I couldn't pass up... just purchased 2 days ago. I have no need for 2 motorized bicycles (finding places to ride the one I hope to complete will be tough enough in the Detroit burbs where I live) so my initial thought was to strip this one for the parts I need for my build and get rid of the rest. However, the more I think about it and checked prices around for everything but the other motor I bought, it seems to maybe make more sense to get this one completed and then sell it to put the money back into my own project (or essentially pay for my other project that way).

Bear with me as I upload the photos, but this is essentially what I can tell you and what I have concerns over. I realize that some of the info may be floating around here, so I apologize in advance if I re-ask those things in this thread.

From what I can tell, this started a 60's Sears and Roebuck road bicycle (made in Austria based on the front tag). I was told the engine is an 80cc, though I have no way of being able to confirm that and don't know how I would (the one I was purchasing was a 66cc marked black engine). There is backpedal with the clutch engaged, so I'm assuming this didn't start out as a single speed but I don't know that either. I knew it was missing the gas tank obviously when I bought it, and I know that's an easy replacement. The air filter is missing off the carburetor, but since the other motor is missing the carb cap and I can't seem to track one down separately it seems to make more sense to just use that air filter and just replace the carb for $10-15 when I get to that motor.