Slant cylinder head vs. strait cylinder head

GoldenMotor.com

Frogster

Jan 18, 2013
Mississauga Ontario Canada
Hey guys, I am somewhat new to the motorized bicycling online community.

My question is, do slant plug cylinder heads really create a better compression ratio then strait plug cylinder heads? Ive heard from one person that strait cylinder heads are better then slant cylinder heads because there is no actual difference in compression ratio while strait plug cylinder heads distribute the spark better and create less chance of a hot spot developing.

Also, is the billet cylinder head sold by motovelo a good performance upgrade? It says it says its an actual high compression head.

thanks!

DIANY

Mar 8, 2012
nampa
i been riding a few years.. and also wonder the same thing.....a lil help????.... i love my center fire!!!.... wish i could find a 66....

KCvale

Feb 28, 2010
Phoenix,AZ
Basically the slant head for these china kits came about so a motor could fit in a smaller bike cavity, hence the spark plug didn't hit the top bar.

As for performance there is no real difference other than a slant head will allow for the use of a slightly longer plug for example the NGK BPR7HIX Iridium plug which for $9 will give you a performance boost you can actually instantly feel.

One more personal note I have is nothing new comes to the US with a straight head since the 2010 EPA regs kicked in so any 'new' kit you buy with one was built at least 4 years ago if not much longer. That doesn't make it a bad motor, it's not like it's a loaf of bread, but little improvements at the factory take place year after year is all.

Frogster

Jan 18, 2013

obesepolice

Apr 5, 2012
irving, texas