sf bay area
IMG_2038.jpeg

IMG_0808.jpeg

IMG_1933.jpeg

IMG_1229.jpeg

IMG_1960.jpeg

************************ Original post

Hello,

MB newbie here just getting started on my first build. Found a Briggs & Stratton 3.5hp motor for $30, and a '79 Chicago Schwinn bike for $60. My goal is to build something reliable, heavy-duty, fast, and cool looking. Meaning, flat bars bobber style.

Motor mount is cut from some .187" steel plate. Plate is not yet welded in the photo.

The frame seemed a bit small, so I hacksawed through the chainstays between the BB and the kickstand mount (to keep the strength) and proceeded to straighten out the seatstays and bend the chainstays with a C-clamp and a couple of strong beams. On Friday, made a part from some stainless tubing to connect the chainstays.. and dropped everything at the welder's.

The plan is to have a tensioned belt jackshaft setup with clutch lever, disc brake on the front, possibly a multi-speed rear internal gear hub.. or even a such hub mounted externally.. under the jackshaft.. so that I can swap it out quickly in case it breaks down ;)

Or even... a locked up 5-gear freewheel on the back with a heavy duty derailleur spring? It would drag sure... but it would be like driving a manual transmission almost... :)

The stretch is going to force my BB much lower to the ground. Anybody know of any wide cranksets with short crank arms?

And what to do about mounting that cruiser seat?? ahhh decisions... decisions...

Attachments

Last edited:
Reactions: Tom from Rubicon

curtisfox

Dec 29, 2008
minesota
Check out msrfan's post another Briggs build,he usees 5 hp briggs without cutting the frame.
You can get shorter cranks from a 20" bike or have your welder bend and cut some regular ones.............Curt

chainmaker

Jan 19, 2010
Ma USA
Yeah check out msrfans stuff ..He is THE Briggs guy here. There are lots of guys selling laid back seat posts to get that seat back and you can flip the guts of the seat tonget it lower.