Homemade Boost Bottle

GoldenMotor.com

Kinskeys

Jul 13, 2010
Washington, DC
I made a Boost bottle from a old used butane gas aluminum can(5.7oz, 162gm) that I spray painted silver, then I tap and die a hole in the intake and in the top of the can, then I threaded in a 1/8" brass barb fitting in each, then attach the bottle with zip ties under the gas tank ,and connected the can and intake with a hose. Before the boost bottle I top out at 30.5 MPH and after I just top of at 34.8 MPH. Well I'm headed out to do some more riding, because I live downtown Washington, DC and there's too much traffic during the day to really have fun, so I'll post some pictures later on & update you if I went any faster..wee.

Attachments

Last edited:

callahoochy

Aug 5, 2010
DC area
I am way more of a newbie than you, K, and not even close to a mechanic. I stumbled upon motorbicycling, and I'm not a mechanic. I live just outside the district in Silver Spring. I'd like to understand what you did, but I don't comprehend the whole boost thing at all. I've bored out my intake manifold and exhaust port and found the bike to run smoother, with less vibration, more low end torque, but not more top end, which I'm not after anyway.

It's my first bike, and I don't take much credit for it. A friend pressured me into buying the used beach cruiser from a Hispanic pawn shop in Takoma Park, and I added the motor. There aren't many of us here in DC with motorbicycles. Share the wealth, eh, brah?

Kinskeys

Jul 13, 2010
Washington, DC