Problems with "80cc" Clutch

GoldenMotor.com

Halifaxcycles

Sep 3, 2010
Halifax Nova Scotia
I have a Zoom Bicycles Stealth Black 80cc kit. The Clutch isn't engaging properly after 400km of ridding on it, The Engine will start but oddly I don't have to pedal then drop the clutch to engage it, While the bike is stationary I can drop the clutch and it will start but the throttle has no impacted on it and it's a quiet spitting noise that the engine makes. I took the clutch cover off and removed the set screw and the star nut and checked the pads and everything looks in order to the best of my knowledge, the problem I think it's having is the small cog is slipping I can wheel the bike around with out holding in the clutch and and the larger cog obviously is turning because it's not locked by the small cog. So some advice on what to do asides from biffing it.

I am a bicycle mechanic and have access to all the tools of the non motorized trade, but My knowledge of motors and terminology isn't the greatest so apologies for that.

-Adam
:-||

DudeZXT

Jun 20, 2010
Lexington, KY
Sounds like you need to adjust your throttle cable. I would start with taking the throttle tube off the handlebar and inspect the plastic for damage.

If no damage then reassemble and take the top off the carb, where the throttle cable goes into it. Turn the throttle and watch for the plunger to go up and down. You should make sure the plunger is assembled correctly with the cable, that the needle is fixed to the plunger and that your c-clip is held down inside the top of the plunger.

Here's all the info you should ever need regarding the stock carburetor:
http://motorbicycling.com/f4/motorized-bicycle-carburetor-pictures-how-install-195.html

Thanks to Norman for his tutorials!

GearNut

Aug 19, 2009
San Diego, Kaliforgnia
After DudeZXT's post, I gotta ask: Will the engine rev up?