will my bike cruise at 40 mph????

GoldenMotor.com

jtgolden

May 31, 2011
United States
I know some are going to highly dislike this question but..... I am buying the 66cc engine from piston bikes, the jet race engine, I plan to get the ngk iridium spark plug and change the plug wire. It apparently has the new and improved cns high performance carb on it as well, but i am prepared to do a lot of adjustments on it to be sure it is perfect thanks to BIKNUT!!!!!!!! My dad is a machinist and has years of involvment with dirt bikes so he has planned to help build a new exhaust for the kit as well. If anyone has any custom exhaust "blue prints" that they would like to share that would be great. This is my first build and I hope to use this for commuting, which is why I need the highest cruising speed possible. O and I will be using a 44 tooth sproket attached to manic mechanic rear hub adapter!!!

Thanks for all help!

DuctTapedGoat

Dec 20, 2010
Nampa Idaho
After you get the CNS dialed in and the expansion chamber installed, you can do 40, if not close.

Since your dad knows dirtbikes, ask him to teach you to polish, match and port the top end.

The_Aleman

Jul 31, 2008
el People's Republik de Kalifornistan
Cruising at 40MPH with a 44T sprocket (assuming you have a 26" wheel) is wishful thinking. That's over 9000RPM. The motor isn't going to live long at that RPM, if it will live at all.

With a 36T, you're looking at over 7500RPM for 40MPH. That's much more feasible, but I still wouldn't consider that a cruise RPM. Maybe a short blast here and there. You might be better off with a shift kit.

DuctTapedGoat

Dec 20, 2010
Nampa Idaho
I never had a speedo on my 66cc, and people say it doesn't like to hit the top rpm, but I could just about keep up with traffic on 40mph speed limit roads (tough to judge with speeders).

The_Aleman

Jul 31, 2008
el People's Republik de Kalifornistan
My 48cc hit 34.7 on a 44T, I was pushing near 40 when I blew a seal.