Where do I start?

GoldenMotor.com

HBfisherman

Jan 5, 2010
Huntington Beach
Hello Im a newbie that recently got a 59' schwinn and took it out for a ride the other day and came back wishing I had an engine on my bike. Well after alittle research I ended up here and I'm already excited.dance1 First off will a motor work on my type of bike? If so what kind of options of motors do I have, in regards to cc and price gas/electric, also how fast will it go? I live in Huntington Beach which is surfing mecca right next to people riding bikes but I have yet to see a motorized bike around here, could there be legality issues with that? Bascially what do I need to get rolling....

bairdco

a guy who makes cool bikes
Aug 18, 2009
living the dream in southern california
that's a perfect bike for it. there's a bunch of them around here, and i'm sure those guys will chime in...

i'm in costa mesa, and have ridden thru HB plenty-o-times with no hassles. rode right down main street alongside cops in the middle of summer, and just waved at them.

for some reason, people have heard horror stories about the cops in all the beach cities around here, but my experience doesn't confirm that. they're all cool to me.

i used to get in waaay more trouble on my skateboard at the beach.

oh, and after a few posts, like 3 or 4, then you can add pics and links...

HBfisherman

Jan 5, 2010
Huntington Beach
I haven't done anything to the bike, and I really have no clue what to do but im sure with proper instructions and the help I will get from this board I should be able to get it done no problem, well actually I should just stop at done bc im sure im gonna end up with some problems. But I have no welding skills nor do I know where to get a welder from. It would be pretty cool to actually make the tank on the bike functional but it has rivets that hold it together and then again I wouldn't know what to do with it anyways.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado