welder

GoldenMotor.com

Dan

Staff
May 25, 2008
Moosylvania
I am thinking of getting this welder to teach my self on. Mostly for small projects and the normal stuff. Motorized bicycles, aluminum push trailers and jet engines. Ya know, the normal stuff people build in their garages.

FREE SHIPPING — Northern Industrial MIG Welder — 115 Volt, 22-135 Amp, Model# MIG 135 | Wirefeed Welders | Northern Tool + Equipment

Would enjoy your thoughts O' Masters of the MotorBike. I am a complete novice to welding. Once welded a zink on a barge. Rust busting 300 feet away on the other side of her with a 20 LB sledge, I heard "thunk/clange" It fell off. Just saying feel free to use small words, long explanations and please type slow. I can't read fast.

Kidding aside, thanks guys. What did folks do b4 the internet?

chrisme

May 30, 2009
Maine
Flux core welders are great, but are difficult to learn on. But it's doable, I learned on one and it made it that much easier starting to weld with gas.

You can't use just any MIG welder for aluminum though, you need a spoolfeed setup for aluminum wire and gas. Aluminum can't be welded with flux core wire like steel can be. Welding aluminum is harder (at least for me...) and you need a much more expensive setup.

scotto-

Custom 4-Stroke Bike Builder
Jun 3, 2010
Ridin' inSane Diego, CA.
I am thinking of getting this welder to teach my self on. Mostly for small projects and the normal stuff. Motorized bicycles, aluminum push trailers and jet engines. Ya know, the normal stuff people build in their garages.

FREE SHIPPING — Northern Industrial MIG Welder — 115 Volt, 22-135 Amp, Model# MIG 135 | Wirefeed Welders | Northern Tool + Equipment