Seeking honest advice...

GoldenMotor.com

BikeNewberry

Dec 2, 2012
Kingsburg, CA
Hi. I am a California resident & I've been doing lots of research on 2-stroke engine kits and I was seeking some honest advice. I have my mind set on purchasing an engine kit from Venice Motor Bikes after reading all the terrible reviews on Motovelo. But here is my goal: To accomplish riding at 40 mph...consistently. What are the list of upgrades that I would need to purchase with the kit in order to meet that speed goal?? I'm wondering what the best expansion chamber would be, and Sprocket tooth count, recommended bicycle tire size etc... From what I understand, two-strokes are prone to not being as "reliable" as 4-strokes, but tinkering and "building" my 2-stroke is half the fun anyways. I appreciate, and welcome your guys' advice, thanks! p.s. -I'm planning on getting the 66/80cc 2-stroke, not the 49cc one. Oh! And which aftermarket performance carb do you guys recommend? Good thing BikeBerry has the Hardware replacement kit...saves me the time I'd spend hunting around at the hardware store for them all. Anyhow, I welcome any and all recommendation on what to do and what to buy and install on the 2-stroke for max speed without having to worry too much about blowing up my engine. I hope this isn't too much of a noob question, but if I don't ask...I'll never get an answer. (^_^)

.duh.

Last edited:

crassius

Sep 30, 2012
USA
Just like a car, a 2-stroke will only run reliably at about 2/3 of its rated speed. If you put your car in first gear, floor the accelerator, and drive that way all day, you won't like your results. To ride at 40, you'll need one with a top end of maybe 60 or 70.

I'd say; "go 4-stroke and go large in the 200cc or bigger class".

You can make a 2-stroke hit 40, but if you don't ride it at 20-25, you'll blow it up.

GearNut

Aug 19, 2009
San Diego, Kaliforgnia
Wise, sage words there crassius.