Oily Spark plug

GoldenMotor.com

captaingeech

Oct 12, 2009
Yuma, AZ
I have a 2 stroke 49cc engine. I'm very new to this, and I didn't assemble mine but bought it second hand and am trying to learn from here.

The engine was very new when I bought it, maybe had run 1 gal. I ran it for about a week (another gal.) on the recommended 25:1 oil to gas mix, then it started to sputter and die. The spark plug was super oily and gross and oil was dripping from the exhaust. Also, there was some oil on the air filter. I cleaned the plug and cut it back to 40:1. It ran fine.
A week later it started to jerk and died again. The plug was very oily again, but no drippage from the exhaust, so I think it was a little better. I cut it back to 50:1 and put in a brand new plug (NGK B7Hs) gapped at .025. I changed the air filter. I used super unleaded gas and Motul 800 2T synthetic oil and ran it for another week and the plug is still looking really oily. I cleaned it and it has been running fine. It hasn't died yet, but it seemed to be getting a little jerky again today though.
I have no idea how to adjust the e clip in the carb, which I've heard other people talking about, if that would make a difference. I don't know if that is simple to do, or if that would be a possible fix. Other than that I have no idea how to keep the plug from getting oily. I would greatly appreciate any help that can be offered.

BarelyAWake

Jul 21, 2009
Maine
o_O

erm... no - that's part of the float mechanism, there's usually little need to mess w/it and it doesn't effect yer mix at all. Worst case is if it's bent down too much you'll just "run out of fuel" at wide open throttle, bent up too much and the float can hit the primer pin and not seal completely - making a puddle under yer bike as fuel pours outa yer carb lol.

The E-clip and it's setting is usually a fuel/air adjustment reference and it's to be found on the needle inside the carb's slide;