how do i start, complete newbie

GoldenMotor.com

ad356

Aug 16, 2021
i do not currently have a bicycle. i think id like to have either a gas powered OR an E-bike. i live in a rural area. im concerned about what is going on in this country and i think gas may eventually hit unknown levels. when it gets to the point where it cost me $100 to fill my car i would consider parking my car for my commute to work and riding a powered bike. my job is 19 miles from my home. im not so worried at 3 or 4 bucks a gallon, but it is what i think is coming, the sky may be the limit. a gas powered bike gets roughly 100 MPG. do i need a motorcycle license to drive one on the shoulder or does the law treat it the same as a non-powered bicycle. since i do not own a bicycle can i build one out of walmart bike, like a huffy for example?

what about e bikes? they look like they are much more expensive to purchase and with more limited range. can i carry a 2nd battery and change it out quickly?

i think these things look like allot of fun, but if driving a gas car becomes un-economical, i think they may offer significant savings in the cost of just getting to work. i live in area that does have snowy winters so 5 months out of the year it would be impractical, i think it would still pay for itself.

build one? or buy one ready to roll
how does the law treat these things?
e-bike or gas powered?
how do these things respond to hills, i live in a hilly area. how does it effect the range of a gas or an e-bike?

im very much a newbie, looking for some starting information

Venice Motor Bikes

Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles
Mar 20, 2008
Los Angeles, CA.
I don't think you're gonna have to worry about gas getting that expensive any time soon...

My personal preference is for gas bikes... I'm sure there's gonna be certain people jumping on here preaching the virtues of their holier than thou vegan electric bikes real soon though. laff

ad356

Aug 16, 2021