Has anyone tried to mount a bolt on cag carb.?

GoldenMotor.com

John the Chimp

Jun 4, 2011
Simi valley ca
I'm new to mb's. My kit is a grubee skyhawk 66cc. With the supposed cns race carb. At least thats what the guy that sold it to me said. The thing is a pile.

I do own several cag pocket bikes. If you know anything about them. You know youre always in the carb.

I'm wondering. Has anyone tried to mount a cag carb directly to the back of there cylinder? If so how did it work.

Between this piece of junk carb, and the chain tensioner. I've almost had enough. If it wasnt for my pocket bike expieriance I would have given up.

The build wasnt that easy either. The guy says yeah it will go right in that bike. Everything you need is included. After about six trips back to his shop and about $100.

I have done some good stuff with my pocket bikes and think alot of it would carry over. So please help me.

Allen_Wrench

Resident Mad Scientist
Feb 6, 2010
Indianapolis
What kind of bicycles are you mounting the engine to? Pics also help. I'm not sure I can better explain it, but there will be difficult builds and "dream builds".

My first bike, a Micargi Huntington, was not an easy build. Engine allignment and chain allignment, as well as seating the engine at a good angle, were somewhat problematic. And, since the downtube was a larger size, I needed to purchase a special mount.

My old JC Higgins is practically a dream to build on. THe only drawback I can possibly think of is that I NEED to use a chain tensioner/guide wheel or the chain will tear up my chain stay. I originally wanted to do without and just adjust the rear wheel accordingly. Other than that, it was almost made to be motorized.

Different bikes work out differently. Show us what you got. :)

John the Chimp

Jun 4, 2011
Simi valley ca
Its a Specialized rock hopper. Its aluminium so it has big tubes.