grubee quality?

GoldenMotor.com

macattie88

Dec 2, 2009
columbia sc
im in the market to buy an engine and have been looking around quite a bit...seems like everyone is selling them and its a bit confusing...i want a quality kit as this is my first build and want minimal problems(that i dont create )im looking at the skyhawk....i see the ads that this is the "rolls royce" of engines,for you experienced builders...is this true?...any bad exp. with grubee in general?..thanks for any info.

bairdco

a guy who makes cool bikes
Aug 18, 2009
living the dream in southern california
i've got 3 grubee starfire GT4 66's. i've never tried any other motor, but i don't seem to have any of the common problems a lot of people do with other motors, and i ride the he11 outta them.

i wouldn't call it a rolls royce, though. it didn't come with white gloves in the glovebox...

Spunout

MB Builder Extraordinaire
Jul 21, 2008
coventry, RI
blog.360.yahoo.com
im in the market to buy an engine and have been looking around quite a bit...seems like everyone is selling them and its a bit confusing...i want a quality kit as this is my first build and want minimal problems(that i dont create )im looking at the skyhawk....i see the ads that this is the "rolls royce" of engines,for you experienced builders...is this true?...any bad exp. with grubee in general?..thanks for any info.
i've bought two, and they both have less get-up-and-go than expected. i bought the 2nd one assuming that 1st one was just a dud. nope...both are slower than other motors i get.
the motorchains provided were just a heavy bike chains, so that means if your drive sprocket isnt very true laterally (side to side) the narrower width of the chain may cause it to jump off the sprocket. i trashed the bike chains that came with the kits.
i wont buy grubee again. "rolls royce"? hardly.
just my two cents.
you're your own person and maybe you'll have nothing but good luck with one :)

macattie88

Dec 2, 2009
columbia sc