Electric Basics

GoldenMotor.com

twowheeledfox

Oct 21, 2009
Houston TX
One of my drinking buddies is highly interested in an electric bike, so this question is for him:

What are the basics of building an electric motorbike? How much do the kits cost? What is the range? What's the average charging time, and life of battery? What abut speed at cruising?

I have little to no knowledge of electric motors and such but this is about what he requires/wants-

20mph cruising speed
at least 50m range at that speed (I have NO idea as to whether this is realistic or not; if it's not, would carrying an extra battery or two aid in this?)
Cost under $300 for the kit
Preferably not too DIYish in the sense of non-kit stuff.

He's thinking of building this otherwise on the cheap, something like an old cruiser or MTB frame, new brakes, install a lighting system and the drive system and that's that.

Thanks for the help all.

SANGESF

Feb 23, 2009
Lake Worth
He's thinking of building this otherwise on the cheap, something like an old cruiser or MTB frame, new brakes, install a lighting system and the drive system and that's that.
We would all love to go 20mph and go for 50miles cheap.
Not gonna happen..... Especially if he doesn't want it too much DIY.
Look at a cost of somewhere around 350 for just the kit..
Batteries are gonna cost ya somewhere around 480 and that's just if you use SLAs, which will last no more than a year.
Now figure Lithium Ion batteries instead of SLAs that will get you that kind of distance and speed are gonna cost ya at least $1000 and would last about 3 years if you're lucky.

deacon

minor bike philosopher
Jan 15, 2008
north carolina
I agree pretty much with the last post but sla are a little less expensive here but the weight is a killer and you need to live in a flat geographic area to get any kind of range on an ebike. I don't.