420cc HF engine

GoldenMotor.com

Moto pope

Mar 26, 2013
St. James, mo
Hey there, slimey1' I have no experience with that motor (and it looks like no one else has either), but I looked it up, and it weighs 73 lbs which is very heavy if you use a bike frame. That motor makes it a motorcycle in most states. If I was planning on spending that kind of money and needing to register it, I would just pop for a Lifan 150 cycle engine as a few on this forum have. There's my 2 cents worth.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Way too much engine/weight for a bicycle frame. I'd strongly suggest you look for alternative power plants for a motorized bicycle. The reasons are too numerous to list.

Tom

Slimey1

Mar 10, 2014
Mt.Vernon,OH
If i was going to build one,I was planning on using a frame from Silver State Cycles.
I've seen quite a few people using modified bicycle frames and powering them with 23hp B&S Vanguard V-twins. I'd think those are heavier than the 420cc Predator single.However,I do like the looks of either the HF 79cc or the Honda GC160.

I think most of the frames i've seen have been made from .120 wall tubing which is what most aftermarket motorcycle frames are made of...like the Paughco hardtail frame my 1977 Ironhead sportster has.

When my garage is finished being built,I can move my lathe/mill back in and I plan to made my own engine from the plans in that 1906 book Building A Motor Bicycle like one other forum member on here did.(cant remember who it was now lol.)

RicksRides

Feb 22, 2012
osceola IN
II m powering the WLA tribute build w/ sidecar with the 420 its got good power heavy torque and my build does 60+ and gets better then 100 mpg

Slimey1

Mar 10, 2014
Mt.Vernon,OH
Yea,I really wanted to keep the engine size as close to the early 1900's Indians,Harleys,and Excelsiors as I can. Which was 30.5ci or 490cc. Plus the small China engines have a real "tinny" sound to them when they're idling,and I just cant get past that sound.