Another clutch

GoldenMotor.com

magicalpancake

Jul 6, 2009
Denver
one of my clutch pads on my 5.8 snapped in half the other day and "seized" my motor. peddled a good 10 miles back home. gonna post up pictures on a new thread later

Dave31

Mar 1, 2008
Aztlán, Arizona
one of my clutch pads on my 5.8 snapped in half the other day and "seized" my motor. peddled a good 10 miles back home. gonna post up pictures on a new thread later
That's exactly what happened to mine, these clutches are horrible. I hear Alex's clutch on his 9.4 screwed up again?

spit_fire

Aug 28, 2009
Brampton
im new to the morini and sure enough i had the same unfortunate event happen to mine, but of course with my luck the shoe dug into the cover and now i have fillings everywhere, any suggestions on how to clean out the filings?

Goat Herder

Gutter Rider
Apr 28, 2008
N.M.
Three shoe clutches are cherry...The two shoe clutches are junk. I have yet to break a three shoe. On my Morini S6S/Boxer I tried to wear it out ''3shoe'' all summer! The clutch is still perfect and in a wet oil bath seriously it is barely worn. 3000+ miles now!

The three little bolts that hold the washer stacks/shoes on the hub ''do not tighten them more than 8 foot pounds guys''. That is what the lock tight is for. A bolt that size in any application is not worthy of uber strength torquing.

cory151

Oct 19, 2010
SoCal
I love my 3 shoe clutch it makes the bike feel like its got a high stall convertor. Although I probably have mine torqued to more than 8 ft/lbs simply because my Snap On doesnt register that low.
But Goat Herder is absolutely correct you MUST use the oil resistant lock tight. Its kinda hard to find and I got mine offline since non of the parts houses had it in town.

spit_fire

Aug 28, 2009
Brampton
were can i get the oil resistant locktight, and will the red stuff not work (if you use it before you submerge the clutch in oil?)

Goat Herder

Gutter Rider
Apr 28, 2008
N.M.